Oral IV Product Review

23 Sep

I recently had the opportunity to try out Oral I.V. Hydration Support Fluid.

OralIV1

According to Oral I.V., it “is a revolutionary hydration aid product based on a proprietary formula of crystalloid electrolytes and purified water”. It doesn’t contain any sugars, caffine or stimulants.

It is a proprietary formula – meaning they couldn’t tell us much about what exactly is in it. As someone who is trying to eat the best things for my body and my running, this bothered me a little bit, as I like to know exactly what I was putting in my body.

I figured it was worth trying out though, so I tried out one vial of it on my one (and only) run this week after being sick. I figured I could use additional hydration since I was recovering both from a race and from being sick.

Oral I.V. comes in little single-serving vials.

OralIV2

You basically break the top off and pour it into 16oz of water.

OralIV3

It doesn’t add any color or carbonation or anything to you water. I will say I did notice a slight texture change to my water – it seemed slightly thicker. So I think in the future, I would mix it in with maybe 24 oz of water to counter act this.
Did it help me feel more hydrated? It’s hard to say becuase I think my hydration levels vary from run to run depending on how I’m feeling. But during my treadmill run, I did notice that I drank slightly less water than normal because I felt like I didn’t have to drink quite as much to quench my thirst.
I also noticed for the rest of the day I felt sufficiently hydrated (using my typical hydrating patterns).
I did not notice any adverse effects and will be interested to try this out on a longer run. I was hesitant to try it out on a longer run first thing, becuase I’m a big proponant of never doing anything for the first time on a long run or during a long race. So now that I know it doesn’t hurt my stomach or anything weird, I will definitly be adding it to my water bottle for my long runs.
I do like the convenience of it and the portability of it. The vials are tiny and easy to open without needing scissors or anything.
If you want to learn more about Oral I.V. feel free to check out their website, facebook or twitter.
I was given vials of Oral I.V. in exchange for a blog review. The opinions written in this review are my own.
Leave a Reply

