Rock n’ Roll Philadelphia Half Marathon (Race Recap)

15 Oct

On September 15 I ran the Rock n’ Roll Philadelphia Half Marathon.

This was my tenth half (!!!) and also the place where I ran my very first half marathon back in 2010, so I was excited to be back. I was also training for a PR with an awesome training plan from Jen. ย Spoiler, unforunately I didn’t PR. and didn’t even hit my secondary time goal. But I have never felt stronger during a half and I 100% attribute that to the training plan.

The course for Rock n’ Roll Philly is really nice. It starts by the art museum, you loop through the city, and then back along the river, cross the river, loop back and end at the art museum. It is flat, (should be) fast, and relatively shaded (except for the last 2-3 miles).

I felt really good before this race and was especially proud that it was my 10th half marathon. Who would have thought I would hit double digits?

RocknRollPhilly201310 fingers for 10 halfs!

I felt really good for the first 5 miles or so of this race. After that I just couldn’t keep up with the paces I was supposed to. I’m not sure why – maybe my legs were dead from the Harrisbrug Half Relay the week before, maybe I didn’t hydrate right, maybe the weather was too warm, maybe my mental game wasn’t there. The fact is I just couldnt hit the paces I needed to.

I finished in 3:19:50. Not gonna lie, I found my dad in the finishing area and started crying. I was really disappointed in myself. But I tried to be positive – I finished ANOTHER half marathon. I should be happy to have finished or been able to run at all. It is what it is and I couldn’t change it.

I’m not sure if you heard about the medal problems they had at RnR Philly, but apparently a bunch of finishers medals were stolen from the finish line. I had SO been looking forward to the receiving the Philly medal from the time that they revealed it on their facebook page.

Instead I was given a generic Rock n Roll Medal.RnRPhillyMedal

Though nice (and I appreciated that they had a medal to give us at all), it wasn’t exactly what I was looking forward to, and after missing my PR (by a LOT), it was just like salt in the wound. The walk back to our hotel was a huge bummer for me, especially as I saw so many people with the “real” Philly medal. I couldn’t help but think that if I had hit my PR I wouldn have gotten that medal.

Naturally, I started stalking the Rock n Roll Philly facebook page on the drive home to see if anyone else was as upset as I was. I was not alone. Competitor Group, the company that runs the Rock n Roll race series, assured us that they would mail out the proper medals to all those who had received the generic one at the finish.

I received an email from them, and sure enough, less than 2 weeks after the race, I got a package in the mail with my Philly medal and a nice, apologetic note from them.

RnRPihllyMedal2In case you can’t read it:

Thank you for joining us at the Rock n’ Roll Philadelphia Half Marathon on September 15th. It was a beautiful weekend to race in Philadelphia and we are proud of what each participate accomplished.

We know that those moments of victory at the finish line are invaluable. We sincerely apologize that you received a generic Rock n’ Roll Marathon Series medal when you crossed the finish line. Sadly, we had medals stolen from the race that were hanging on at the finish line and a supplemental shipment did not arrive…”

I have heard varying experices at RnR races around the coutry so I am so, so, appreciative that they made the crappy medal situation right. Thank you Competitor Group!

16 Responses to “Rock n’ Roll Philadelphia Half Marathon (Race Recap)”

  1. Mindy @ Road Runner Girl October 15, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    10 half marathons is awesome!!! Be proud of that accomplishment! And I know you didn’t get the time you wanted but you finished something that so many people will never even try! Hold your head up high girl!!!

    • Becca October 28, 2013 at 11:03 am #

      You are so right. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Meg @ Meg-in-Training October 15, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    Wow! 10 Half Marathons! You are awesome!!!

    • Becca October 28, 2013 at 11:03 am #

      aw thanks!

  3. Chris October 15, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    Congratulations on 10 half marathons! Wow!! Awesome! And I know how you feel about your time. I finished my last half almost exactly in the same amount of time 3:19:– (I can’t remember the seconds). I was so disappointed. What made it worse was I KNEW I wouldn’t receive a medal at the end (Zooma race series doesn’t do them), so I understand your pain at not getting one at Philly (and yes, that medal DOES ROCK!!!!). What’s up next? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Michelle T October 15, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    I had the same thing happen to me at a half marathon this year! They ran out of finisher medals. It was so disappointing to cross the finish line and not get a medal! They mailed it about a month later but it isn’t the same!

    • Becca October 28, 2013 at 11:03 am #

      Totally agree with everything you said!

  5. mizunogirl October 16, 2013 at 6:27 am #

    AS long as you learned some things about running and the half marathon, no race is a loss, but I do understand about not getting the time you trained for. Your training was solid as well. Onwards to the next event!!!!! I’m not a fan of the rock and roll events, but you made this one sound like a lot of fun.

    • Becca October 28, 2013 at 11:03 am #

      Yea I have heard good and bad about RnR races but I really felt they made the best of a bad situation this time.

  6. Kathy October 18, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Congrats on 10 half marathons! That’s awesome. Sorry you didn’t make your time goal but it happens to everyone. Hopefully next time!

    • Becca October 28, 2013 at 11:02 am #

      Thank you!

  7. Mar @ Mar on the Run! October 19, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    Awesome work on 10 half marathons!! Can’t believe they ran out of medals but that’s great they sent it to you with a nice note!

    • Becca October 28, 2013 at 11:01 am #

      Yes, I now have it hanging on my medal rack!

      • karen January 2, 2014 at 12:21 am #

        I live in harrisburg and have done many of the same races.you have. I was very upset at r n r organizers that day. Many of the water stops were out when I got there. Congrats on your accomplishments. See you at the finish line.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wineglass Half Marathon (Race Recap) | Diary of a slow runner - October 21, 2013

    […] came in 7 minutes faster than Rock n Roll Philly though, so I was overall okay with the time. I just figured it wasn’t a PR day for […]

  2. Runner’s World Half Marathon (Race Recap) | Diary of a slow runner - October 30, 2013

    […] the end, I came in at 3:04:32 – 8 minutes faster than Wineglass, eleven minutes faster that RnR Philly just 5 weeks ago, and 23 minutes faster than Disney (though, I was not trying to finish for a time […]

Leave a Reply

