2013 Goals in review

2 Jan

Hey guys, I hope your holiday season was great!!! I took a little hiatus because 1. I wanted to give myself the opportunity to enjoy the holidays without being plugged in and 2. my holidays were pretty much the generic, visit with family, eat lots of great food, drink lots of great drinks, fun time. Nothing out of the ordinary. 🙂 I also broke a sweat with a bunch of bodyPump and spinning, and a Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving morning and a race on New Years eve to finish off 2013 in the best way possible. I was pretty active on Twitter and Instagram so if you are curious/nosey/etc, feel free to check them out. 🙂

Since it’s the beginning of 2014, I wanted to check in on my goals from last year to see how I did.

Here’s my orginial goal-setting post in case you are interested.

– Keep on running, zumbaing and kickboxing.  I want to expand this goal in general to focusing on cross training. I think I did this in a big way in 2013, and am so glad I opened my eyes to new forms of exercise – zumba, kickboxing, BodyPump, and Spinning/RPM are all things that I try to incorporate week to week, in addition to my running.

– YOGA! The first half of the year was a little rough, but I finally go into the groove once I found a once-a-week lunch time yoga class at the building next to where I work. There was practically no excuse to skip. 🙂

– Drink more water!!! If I was giving myself a grade on this it would be a C. I’m really not as good about this as I need to be/should be.

– Race. Race. Race.  Specifically, do 13 races. I completed this goal with the Color Me Rad 5k in June (which included virtual races). In the end, I completed a total of 22 races – 1 marathon, six half marathons, a 10k, an 8k, a 4 miler, 2 color runs, 1 mud run, four 5ks, and 5 virutal races (all 5ks). I am so completely happy I blew my goal away. 🙂 And I love having the bling to show for it. 🙂

I’m also super proud that I completed 755 miles this year, which is the most I have ever completed in a year (these stats from Map My Run didn’t include the 5k I ran on New Years Eve)!

– Read. I enjoy reading, but for some reason I never make the time for it. I’m getting better but this is something I would like to continue to improve upon.

– Finish the basement of our house. The funds are saved, its just a matter of the hubby calling a few contractors for quotes now. So as far as I have control, this is completed. 🙂

– Landscape the backyard.  Done! We got some cute little trees that are slowly growing.

– Furnish our first floor. This one was done as of my mid-year check in. yay!

– Build more savings. Really, this is always a goal. You can never have enough money in savings right? 🙂

Overall I am pretty happy with how I did, and am looking forward to making some new goals for 2014.

3 Responses to “2013 Goals in review”

  1. My Virtual Mission January 2, 2014 at 1:50 pm #

    You set some goals, and you’ve been working on them. That’s pretty awesome. Already you’re already leaps and bounds a head of most.

    Great post and we look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    My Virtual Mission

  2. Katrina Elle January 2, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

    Great goals set for what’s bound to be an AWESOME year!

  3. mizunogirl January 2, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

    looks like 2013 was good for you. Love the Wineglass medal!

Leave a Reply

