And so it begins… racing in 2014

21 Feb

Hi hi. Here I am. haha. I’m coming down a bit of an emotional high – I have been planning the hubby’s surprise 30th birthday party for months, and 2 weeks ago it finally happened, without a hitch. WHEW. It was fun and all, but now I am just glad it is over. 😉 It’s so hard planning a surprise for someone that you are so close to!

Meanwhile, I have started training for my first half of 2014 – in Pittsburgh at the beginning of May. I have done this race in both 2012 and 2013, and I love it so much that I will be returning for my third year! After Pittsburgh I have the Runner’s World Heartbreak Hill 5k & Half planned (in June), then another half in July. Then, for the fall I have… gulp… signed up for my second full marathon!

Image

Yep, that is happening. After running the Wineglass Half this past year I am convinced that Wineglass will be the perfect venue for my first “real” full marathon. Yes, I completed the Goofy Challenge in 2013 and that was technically my first marathon, but I am looking forward to “only” training for a marathon and focusing more on a specific finish time – instead of merely hoping to finish.

As I slowly pieced my 2014 races together I realized that basically, once I start formally training for Pittsburgh, I will more or less be building mileage until the Marathon in October. Last week was the kick off to lots and lots of training! I am hoping to avoid burn out with cut back weeks, races and lots of cross training.

This is starting to get a bit long so I will share what the past two weeks of training have been like tomorrow.

Here’s to the Pittsburgh Half, and ultimately the Wineglass Full Marathon!

3 Responses to “And so it begins… racing in 2014”

  1. Lindsay February 21, 2014 at 3:43 pm #

    Excited for you! I want to do a full marathon someday, so I can’t wait to follow along with your training! I’m also SO looking forward to meeting you in April for the Hershey 10K!

    • Becca February 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

      YES! Me too!!!

  2. mizunogirl February 21, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

    I SO want to do wineglass. I don’t think it will be happening, but maybe…My issue is as always the coach…

Leave a Reply

