2014 Goals

23 Feb

Just like last year, I wanted to take some time to reflect on my goals for this year, after the “New Year, New You” type hubub has calmed down. So here are my goals, finally. ๐Ÿ™‚

Health Living

Strength Training. Strength Training. Strength Training. ย Luckily I have found BodyPump. I hope to continue to strength train regularly. This year is about becoming stronger.

Run Marathon #2 – Wineglass Marathon in October. ย Already signed up. Just gotta train and finish this one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Focus on water intake. ย This is carryover from last year. I really need to figure out a good way to help me track my water intake that is simple and easy. I need to figure out how to be motivated.

Yoga.ย My goal here is simple. Once a week, the majority of the 52 weeks of the year.

Quality over Quantity with races. ย Last year was all about quantity with 13 in 2013. Though I โค racing, I want to focus on the quality of my races this year. If I run fewer races, so be it.

Focus on fresh and unprocessed.ย I am slowly working on this goal when cooking at home, though admittedly sometimes it is just easier to order take out or heat up something frozen. I want to get better with incorporating fresh ingredients, and become better at ordering healthier items at restaurants. I tend to gravitate towards the less healthy stuff, thinking of it as a “treat.” But I eat out frequently enough that it shouldn’t always be a treat.

Personal

Focus on far away friends.ย Some of my very good friends live 2+ hours from me (some are even on the other side of the country). I need to get better about calling them, and seeing them.

More reading. ย Another one I am bringing over from last year.

Focus on living in the now. ย It is easy for me to get wrapped up in the daily grind, and to feel stressed out. I need to focus on being happy NOW.

At Home

Finish the basement of the house. ย Hopefully this will happen soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Paint the interior. First step is figuring out colors I suppose….ugh. I am not a natural decorator so this is a bit of a daunting task for me, not gonna lie.

7 Responses to “2014 Goals”

  1. mizunogirl February 23, 2014 at 3:17 pm #

    Lots of great goals a nice balance! I so want to do Wineglass. and DARN IT, I would have given you my entry to PA GRAND CANYON! I have a Marathon entry but couldnt run las tyear, and this year, I know better than to try to attempt to train for a marathon in the heat of Florida, plus travel to that beautiful area…well..expensive. You seem to be doing plenty of racing as it is…I’m a wee bit jealous of your racing schedule. Mine is so far 2 10K’s allowed. oh and SPACE COAST!

    • Becca February 27, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

      Oh my gosh, but I am jealous of the fact that you have so many awesome races in Florida! The grass is always greener huh? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Erica House (@Erica_D_House) February 27, 2014 at 2:57 pm #

    Yay for training for marathon #2!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tracking Water Intake | Diary of a slow runner - March 3, 2014

    […] my 2014 Goals post I mentioned that I wanted to get better about drinking water. Well I think I have found […]

  2. Our Basement Renovations Start | Diary of a slow runner - March 19, 2014

    […] This morning a big project at our house started!!! You may (or may not) remember that one of my goals of 2014 was to finish the basement in our […]

  3. Pittsburgh Half Marathon Training (Week 9) & Hershey 10k Goals | Diary of a slow runner - April 11, 2014

    […] that I had done a ton of races earlier in the year than this but since this year I am focusing on quality over quantity, I have tried to hold back a bit until the spring race season really gets […]

  4. 2014 Goals Update | Diary of a slow runner - July 31, 2014

    […] (past) the mid year, so time to check on the goals I set for myself for 2014ย at the beginning of the […]

Leave a Reply

