Thoughts so far on the run/walk method

10 Mar

Since my theme for the year is to “get stronger” I wanted to push myself to stay strong to the very end of my races. I tend to burn out and be really exhausted and unable to give it a final push in the last few miles. This will be especially key for my marathon in October I think.

One of the ways I decided to do this in my training is by using the Galloway Run/Walk method. If you are unfamiliar with it, you can find Jeff Galloway’s information about it here. Basically the idea is that by incorporating planned walk breaks into long runs and races you can be stronger and faster.

During races I have always taken walk breaks during water stops, and to take Gus. But other than that I just went by feel, running until I got tired and felt like I needed walk breaks. The problem is as I get more and more tired, I want to walk more and more, and I feel bad about it. I end up defeating myself a little bit mentally in the later miles.

My hope is that by using planned walk breaks my stamina will increase and I won’t feel guilty about walking every once in a while.

So far I have been using the run/walk method during my long runs. I have been sticking to a 2 min run/1 min walk method. I really like it so far – the long runs feel very “doable” when I think about it in 3 minute cycles.

It is a little annoying to be constantly pressing the treadmill buttons to change my speed (thanks winter!) but it keeps my mind busy I guess. I have been using this Run/Walk interval timer app so that I don’t have to do the math in my head. It either tells me when to switch to walking or running.

I am looking forward to seeing how this method works when I get into longer and longer runs, and ultimately on race day for the Pittsburgh Half Marathon in May.

 

3 Responses to “Thoughts so far on the run/walk method”

  1. Noelle Bakken March 10, 2014 at 12:02 pm #

    I’ve been doing the same in training for my first half! I’ve been attempting to take a walk break every half mile on long runs, which helps me push myself to keep going a little further when I’m getting tired, but the sloppy trails have hindered me a lot so I’ve walked more than just every half mile. I did a couple shorter runs with a 3/1 interval which I really liked, and I’m planning to incorporate those into my long runs going forward and use it on race day if I like the results.

  2. Larissa March 10, 2014 at 5:03 pm #

    Oh I feel no shame in some quick walk breaks. I definitely took a few at water stations during my first (and only) half mary last spring. I’ve never thought about structured walks though. I generally go by feel, working hard to pace myself well and slow down when I really need to. Planned walk breaks could keep me more committed in the running intervals and I’d probably slow down less overall. Great idea!

  3. mizunogirl March 10, 2014 at 7:52 pm #

    It has worked really well for many people. I know a man who qualified for Boston doing 8:1 intervals. Of course he was booking it during the 8 mins. I’m not entirely sold on the run/walk method for me yet, though I do take walk breaks..the longer I train, the less the breaks are. I was so proud last year when I finally ran 13.1 without a walk break! Good Luck in Pittsburgh! I hope it is sensational for you

Leave a Reply

