Puma Faas 300 v3 Women’s Running Shoes (Product Review)

25 Mar

I received a pair of Puma Faas 300’s for free in exchange for a review on my blog. All opinions are my own.

I have loved my good ol’ pair of Puma Rio‘s that I bought literally, on a whim as part of a RueLaLa sale. They are a great casual shoe that I often wear to work with jeans, on the weekends casually or even around the Disney parks.

So, when a Puma rep contacted me about the Puma Faas 300 v3s I couldn’t say no! I am thrilled to have the opportunity to test out a pair of these shoes, since I have had great experience with Puma shoes in the past but no experience with their running shoes. I was especially interested since these shoes are lightweight and have a smaller heal-toe drop.

From the website:

Built specifically for the female runner and athlete with a lightweight and technical platform and a minimal and deconstructed upper, the Faas 300 v3 will make any female runner feel lighter and faster and look her best. A performance training shoe, it has an 8mm HTD for a smooth transition. Lightweight and minimal no-sew overlays provide optimum support while keeping the weight down. 

More information from the Puma Rep who contacted me:

Technology is added to enhance cushion and comfort like Evertrack – a high abrasion resistant rubber that keeps the shoe durable longer, as well as Everride+ – PUMA’s blown rubber compound that allows the shoe to be lighter, more cushioned and have a smoother start.

When I received the shoes and opened the box I was immediately shocked at just how lightweight they felt just as I pulled them out of the box. They are listed on the website as 5.8oz but seriously, just know that they feel SO incredibly light.

PumaFaas300_1

I have worn them for two runs. Yesterdays hill work on a treadmill, and today’s speed work on a treadmill.PumaFaas300_2

Matching my outfit to the shoes was unintentional, I swear.

I was amazed again at how lightweight they felt. I also thought that they may be an adjustment for me, from my usual Ultras because of the “normal” sized toe box and the fact that there is any heal-toe drop at all. I was totally wrong. The shoes were just so comfortable I didn’t really have to “adjust.”

I also felt like because they were just so lightweight I was running much faster than normal (and my paces reflected that). My feet just felt so light, like there was nothing weighing them down. I’m not sure how else to describe it. and yes, I probably sound like a broken record at this point.

I also wore them to a BodyPump class.
PumaFaas300_3

 

Yes, these are running shoes, but I was curious as to how they would feel during some cross training too. They worked really great in BodyPump because they are somewhat minimal. I was able to really feel the floor which is really helpful when lifting weights.

Something random to note, check out the long shoelace length! Does it irk anyone else that running shoe laces seem to be getting shorter and shorter? No issues with that on the Faas 300s!

All in all, I would highly recommend these shoes, and I expect that I will be rotating them in and out during my runs from now on. The one thing that I have not experienced is running in them for a distance over 3 miles, so I will be interested to see how they hold up since they are more minimal.

If you are interested in checking them out in person and are in the Philadelphia area,  head to your local Philadelphia Runner (in Philly or Glen Mills) and test a pair.

Leave a Reply

