Pittsburgh Half Marathon Training (Week 9) & Hershey 10k Goals

11 Apr

This past week was a bit rough, my runs just weren’t feeling so great. I also was traveling from work tuesday to wednesday so we know how that goes – had to shift some things around and take an extra rest day. My cross training was also not fabulous this week, but what can ya do. I’m trying to roll with it. πŸ™‚

Saturday – 10 miles easy pace
Sunday – BodyPump* + RPM*
Monday – 3 miles hills
Tuesday – 3 miles on the hotel treadmill quickly before heading out to a networking dinner.
Wednesday – Rest day – presented at the conference, drove back from Pittsburgh and crashed on the couch.
Thursday – BodyPump + 3 miles easy – was supposed to be 5 but wowsa my calfs were tight. I just listened to my body and cut it short.
Friday – Rest day

*Links for more information:Β BodyPump,Β RPMΒ 

Total Miles: 19
Strength Work Classes: 2Β (goal of 3 a week) sadface
Cardio Classes: 1Β (goal of 2 a week) double sadface

Tomorrow I am hoping to hit up an early BodyPump class before heading to Hershey!!! My FIRST RACE of the year is this weekend at the Hershey 10k! yah00!! Last year I was such a racing maniac that I had done a ton of races earlier in the year than this but since this year I am focusing on quality over quantity, I have tried to hold back a bit until the spring race season really gets going.

I am pretty excited about the Hershey 10k, though I honestly have no real goals (ha, tricked you with the title, huh). Last year I was aiming to PR, and I did. This year I just want to enjoy it and have fun. If I end up surprising myself with a PR I’d be thrilled but with the Pittsburgh Half in 3 weeks I am by no means holding out hope it’ll happen.

So that’s what I’ve been up to on the running front. In other news, the basement is almost done being finished!!!! I can’t wait to post an update on how it’s turned out soon. I love it, and the process has been pretty painless but in all honesty I am ready to get back to my normal routine and have our house back in order. Hopefully that will all happen soon. πŸ™‚

Have a good weekend!!!

5 Responses to “Pittsburgh Half Marathon Training (Week 9) & Hershey 10k Goals”

  1. mizunogirl April 11, 2014 at 9:15 pm #

    Good Luck with your 10K! Enjoy!!!!

    • Becca April 17, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. kristenk April 11, 2014 at 11:50 pm #

    I’m running Hershey this weekend too! I’m so excited because I had such a great time last year and I’m hoping to PR again!

  3. caffeinejogger April 15, 2014 at 7:29 pm #

    Just found your blog and it’s great! I run at the back of the pack too πŸ™‚

    • Becca April 17, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

      Welcome! πŸ™‚ Back-of-the-packers unite!

Leave a Reply

