Hershey 10k 2014 (Race Recap)

28 Apr

On April 13th I ran the Hershey 10k for the second time! (First time recap is here.)

For a little background, in 2011 I ran the Hershey Half Marathon – and thanks to the “fun” rolling hills, it was really rough. I decided never again. However last year when I saw the 10k advertised I decided to give Hershey another chance. 🙂 I trained for it and managed to PR, so overall my experience was pretty great!

This year I signed up for the 10k again. It is a well organized race, that is pretty close to where I live, and super fun.

I drove to Hershey the night before the race to pick up my race packet. This year they had LONG SLEEVED TECH SHIRTS – heck yea! (Last year it was just a cotton long sleeved). Packet pickup at this race is always super easy and parking for it (and the race itself) is a non issue. Then I hit up Chocolate World and the nearby outlets for some shopping before checking into my hotel and falling asleep.

The next morning I woke up, checked out of the hotel and drove to the Hershey Park Stadium for the race. I got there way early (because that’s just what I do..) so I went to the restroom (there are real restrooms in the stadium which is awesome!), ate my Sport Beans, and got a picture with a Hershey Kiss!

Hershey 10k 2014 (1)

Side note: do you know how weird it is to pose with a Hershey’s Kiss? Where do you put your arms since their bottom half is so wide? haha. Instead I just decided to jazz hand it up.

The race started at 7:30, and since the crowd is (relatively) small-ish for this one, I crossed the start shortly there after.

The first three miles are through a parking lot, and the hills hit you right away. I had forgotten how hilly this course was! After the parking lot you head around the outlets, which is a bit more scenic, before heading into the park around mile four. Going into the park totally makes up for the boring first couple of miles. It’s so fun to run around the water park, through back access roads and under roller coasters. The folks working at Hershey Park are all out and clapping and cheering too which is awesome. Though I will say, the hills pretty much continue the whole way though.

Hershey 10k 2014 (2)

The last hill is climbing back up to the stadium to loop around it and enter it for a sprint across the finish line.

Within the first few miles my legs were feeling a bit tired so I made the decision to just enjoy myself. My finishing time was 1:22:58. Honestly I don’t know how I managed to PR last year! Those hills were crazy! But overall, I really enjoyed this race for the 2nd year in a row – PR or not – and I hope to be back!
Hershey 10k 2014 (3)

20 Responses to “Hershey 10k 2014 (Race Recap)”

  1. Natalie April 28, 2014 at 7:29 pm #

    I raced this too!! Now seeing your pictures I am pretty sure I saw you on the course! It was hilly. I kept telling people “As a kid, I never knew Hersheypark was hilly”. This 10K really has me motivated to train for another half marathon.
    I small bummer about this race…. same day as the Beaver Stadium run.
    Good luck at Pittsburgh this weekend!

    • Becca April 29, 2014 at 8:33 am #

      Oh awesome! Yea I was bummed about it being the same day as the Beaver Stadium run too! Maybe next year there won’t be that conflict.

  2. mizunogirl April 28, 2014 at 8:41 pm #

    Great work. That course looks fun and frightening!!! Yay for PR!

    • Becca April 29, 2014 at 8:33 am #

      More fun than frightening – if you don’t mind a few hills 😉

      • mizunogirl May 1, 2014 at 6:31 pm #

        I’m such a flat lander!

      • Becca May 9, 2014 at 2:39 pm #

        ha, I actually am a bit jealous. 🙂

  3. unexpectedrunner April 30, 2014 at 9:13 am #

    Great recap! I nominated you for a Leibster Award http://unexpectedrunner.wordpress.com/2014/04/30/liebster-award/

  4. Rebecca Jo (@RebeccaJoKnits) April 30, 2014 at 11:45 am #

    Jazz Hands are always a great last resort 🙂

    • Becca May 9, 2014 at 2:39 pm #

      haha, I think so too!

  5. Meghan Ross May 1, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

    Wow, great time, even with the hills!

  6. meghan July 17, 2014 at 10:33 pm #

    I ran this too! I actually saw your first recap when I was researching before the race. This was my first (timed) 10k… i run xc and distance for track and normally don’t time any long runs exceeding 6 or 7 miles. Now that I’m prepared for the hills and have an idea of the course next year I’m hoping to break 50 even though thats like 4 minutes which is too much ugh. Thats so impressive that you can do marathons and half marathons! Keep going 🙂

    • Becca July 21, 2014 at 9:40 am #

      Awesome job on your first 10k! Good luck trying to break 50 – I may be there too. 🙂

    • Becca July 21, 2014 at 9:40 am #

      OH and be careful… the 10k is the gateway to training for a Half Marathon… just saying 😉

  7. Meranda@Fairytalesandfitness April 4, 2016 at 10:12 pm #

    I’m so glad I found your race recap. I have been wanting to do one of the Hershey races since I live close but quickly crossed the Half marathon off my list because of how hilly I heard it was. I decided to put my sights on the 10K instead. Now reading your recap of all the hills I am a little nervous! I guess if I have no plans to PR it will be okay, right???

    • Becca April 7, 2016 at 11:56 am #

      Yes, the half marathon is much more hilly. I personally would never do it again. But the 10k I have done 4 years in a row now, and despite it being hilly I really enjoy it. The atmosphere is great and it’s well organized. I totally recommend it, and you never know about a PR – I’ve PRed 3 out of 4 times I’ve done it! so never say never. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hershey 10k Race Recap | Diary of a slow runner - May 6, 2015

    […] the Hershey 10k in Hershey, PA!  I have run this race twice before, PRing in 2013, and then just taking it easy in 2014.  I love this race because it is a nice size – not to small but not too big, and a quick […]

  2. Hershey 10k 2016 (Race Recap) | Diary of a slow runner - April 7, 2016

    […] Saturday April 2nd I ran the Hershey 10k. This was my fourth year running it (I ran in 2013, 2014 and 2015).  Despite the hilly course I have managed to PR 2 out of the three times I have run it […]

  3. Hershey 10k and Race #100 | Diary of a slow runner - April 14, 2017

    […] I ran the Hershey 10k as my 100th lifetime race! This was my 5th year running the 10k (2016, 2015, 2014, 2013). I go back year after year because it is semi-local, well priced, well organized and you get […]

Leave a Reply

