Hill Work + Vega Sport Gels (Product Review)

15 May

As part of my Sweat Pink Ambassadorship I received a box of Vega Sport Gels for free in exchange for a review on my blog. I volunteered for this opportunity, and all opinions are my own.

On Monday I tackled a hill work out OUTSIDE! It was actually really fun – I went up (and down) a 1/4 mile hill 3 times, and then on the 4th time I went up halfway.

3 miles of hill work and repping @PGHMarathon

A post shared by Becca (@beccarun) on

I also rocked my Pittsburgh headband. Because, why not? 🙂 (Yes I still owe you a recap of that race..)

Speaking of hillwork…

VegaCampaign

I got a chance to try out Vega’s Sport Gels! I am a Gu girl through and through – chocolate outrage, peanut butter, salted caramel, mint chocolate – hook.me.up. So I was excited to try out another type of gel and one that is from Vega!

If you don’t know about Vega, they create plant-based products including many different protein powders and bars. In their Vega Sport line they have a combination of powders, gels and bars to help Prepare, Sustain and Recover.

I tried out the Raspberry Sport Gels during my 45 minute run over the weekend.

VegaSportGels

 

 

 

I had one about 15 minutes in to my run to see the type of effect I felt. This is the part where I get brutally honest. The texture of the gels was great, the amount in the packet was perfect. The actual flavor though, I was really not a fan of. I would be interested in trying their Orange Zest flavor, and if they come out with chocolate or something like that, I would be open to trying that too. Looking at my Gu preferences I realized that I tend to gravitate towards the non-fruity flavors, so that may be part of it.

The Vega Sport Gels do have a pretty good pronounceable ingredient list. I really like the fact that they first ingredient is Dates, and there is no High Fructose Corn Syrup.VegaSportGelNutrition

So, in summary, I think Vega Sport Gels are worth a shot to try them, if plant-based nutrition is important to you, and you like gels while running. And if they add some more non-fruit flavors, I will be right there with you, trying them out!

 

2 Responses to “Hill Work + Vega Sport Gels (Product Review)”

  1. mizunogirl May 14, 2014 at 6:30 pm #

    Hill work is speed work in disguise!!! the Vega products seem interesting. I’m not a gel fan but I’d probably give their powders a try…

    • Becca May 19, 2014 at 1:41 pm #

      I have heard mixed reviews of the powders, but they’re definitely worth a shot I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

