My First Race (Tuesdays on the Run)

15 Jul
Tuesdays on the Run

Every Tuesday I am joining a link up with MCM Mamma Runs, Run the Great Wide Somewhere and My No Guilt Life. You can find out more about the link up here.

This weeks topic: Your First Race.

My very first race was a 5k on June 27, 2009, in Skippack Pennsylvania (a suburb of Philadelphia). The 5k was the culmination of going through the Couch to 5k Program. Luckily I created race reports back in the day to share on the Runner’s World Beginners Forum so here is my recap that I posted 5(!) years ago.

——

I started with the beginners 5k program on Runner’s World at the beginning of May. After finishing the program I did my first race on june 27th – a 5k benefiting a local lions club. My dad, brother and boyfriend [Becca’s note: this “boyfriend” is now my husband – crazy how that works out!] all did it with me which was great support. My dad stayed towards the back of the group with me and ran at my pace (even though I am sure it was too slow for him).

I was extremely nervous because I didn’t know what to expect at a race and this ultimately effected my performance unfortunately.

The course was around some local neighborhoods. We started off pretty good – roughly a 10:30 minute first mile. Typically I run at 12/12:30 min mile so I was pretty proud. I didn’t feel that I was pushing myself too much.

During the 2nd mile I began to have some problems. First of all, I had been so nervous that my breathing rate was out of control from the time we started and I wasn’t able to really get it under control. Second, I hadn’t done a lot of hill work prior to the race but the course itself ended up being uphill for probably 2.25 of the 3.1 miles. I really struggled with running up hill after a mile or so. My boyfriend told me later that he really struggled with this as well – and he is very in shape – so I don’t feel too bad about the fact that I struggled here. The bummer is that I did have to slow down to a extremely brisk walk in order to get myself through those hills. My original goal had been to run the whole thing but I knew if I forced myself to do that on a harder than expected course I would really struggle towards the end.

Running through that finish line was the best feeling I’ve ever had. All in all I finished in 37:26 – which I am pretty proud of considering during training it took me 38+ to finish 3.1 miles (and I got this time even walked a portion of it).
——

I also came across some photos from my first race:

Waiting to start – I remember feeling SO SO nervous.

firstrace1
Finishing the race – I remember this last stretch felt SO HARD. Also looking at this photo I realized just how far I have come in my fitness journey.

firstrace2
After the race. Gatorade never tasted so good!

firstrace3

 

4 Responses to “My First Race (Tuesdays on the Run)”

  1. Deborah @ Confessions of a Mother Runner July 15, 2014 at 2:19 pm #

    I still feel nervous at the start of all of my races. I also love my gatorade at the end.

  2. MCM Mama (@mcmmama) July 15, 2014 at 4:16 pm #

    LOVE reading all of these recaps! You’ve come so far! (And I’ve run more than 50 races and I’m always nervous at the start!) Thanks for joining our linkup. Hope to see you again next week!

  3. d20girl July 15, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I hate hills so much! You did a great job, especially with that much of the race being uphill! Thanks for linking up with us today!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rock n Roll Philadelphia 2010 (#tbt Race Recap) | Diary of a slow runner - February 4, 2016

    […] running and after I started running half marathons. I have previously shared my experience of my first 5k and thought it would be fun to share my race recap from my first half marathon in September of […]

Leave a Reply

