Wineglass Marathon Training (Week 6)

18 Jul

As you read this I am hopefully out getting in my long run for the week. I’m traveling a little bit this weekend so I took a vacation day from work today to fit in a 12 miler before I hit the road. You gotta do what you gotta do.

Last weekend was a bit unusual – I had a 7 mile long run planned but also a 5k race planned for Sunday. So I opted to run three miles on saturday (after 2 hours at the gym – yikes) and then run the 5k as hard as I could.

In addition, I have decided to change my training plan up a little bit, most noteably by moving from 4 runs to 3 a week, but more on that next week once I’ve gotten a feel for it. ๐Ÿ™‚

aaand I got to check out a new-to-me Les Mills class called BodyVibe. It probably won’t become a regular thing (my gym is just testing it out right now) but I love trying fitness programs out and it was fun to try it!

Saturday –ย BodyPump* + RPM* + 3 miles easy

Sunday – 5k! 38:08.

Monday – 3 miles of speedwork.

Tuesday โ€“ Rest

Wednesday โ€“ RPM* in the AM + 6 mile tempo run (in watermelon colors!) in the PM (2 miles warm up, 3 at pace, 1 cool down)

Watermelon colors for my tempo run this evening.

A post shared by Becca (@beccarun) on

Thursday โ€“ BodyPump* in the AM + BodyVibe* in the PM

Friday โ€“ 12 miles easy

Total Miles: 27 (wowsa!)

Strength classes: 2 (goal of 3)
Cardio classes: 3 (goal of 2)

*Links for more information:ย BodyPump,ย RPM,ย BodyVibe

3 Responses to “Wineglass Marathon Training (Week 6)”

  1. meghan July 20, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

    i could never train for a marathon… you’ve got a lot of guts… (and endurance )

    • Becca July 21, 2014 at 9:42 am #

      aw thanks – never say never ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Lady Lion (@LadyLionRunner) July 22, 2014 at 6:04 am #

    I’ll be there but for the half! I’m excited to check out the course

Leave a Reply

