Wineglass Marathon Training (Week 7)

25 Jul

Holy crap week 7!

I’ve really enjoyed the change in running plans I’ve made over the past 2 weeks. The mileage is higher during the week, and it is a bit intense but I am loving the change of pace (literally). Every time I hit the prescribed paces for the workouts I feel really confident that I can do this. 🙂

I have a Half Marathon this weekend but I didn’t really taper this week running-wise because well, my end goal is the Wineglass Marathon. So we will see how it goes with no real tapering. 🙂 I did cut back on my cross training though – honestly it wasn’t intentional but I have felt soooo tired. Maybe its from changing my training plan, I dunno. But I decided to listen to my body and go with it so that I don’t burn myself out. Mainly that meant I missed my BodyPump classes this week and a spinning class.

On Friday of last week I squeezed in my 12 miler before hitting the road to go to Philadelphia to visit a friend. We had a great time that included doing a color run! I am never one to turn down the opportunity to do one of these, so though this was my fourth we had an awesome time. We walked it because my friend is still recovering from knee surgery and had a great time taking in the sights and chatting while getting doused in color.

Saturday – Color Run 5k!

Sunday – BodyPump* + BodyFlow* (Basically yoga) – I switched from RPM to BodyFlow last minute but was really glad I did. My hips were feeling like they were in a vice and this definitely loosened me up. I may do this more and more as my mileage increases.

Monday – 3 miles of speedwork (some 1200s and 800s)

Tuesday – BodyAttack*

Wednesday – 7 mile tempo run (1 miles warm up, 5 at pace, 1 cool down)

Thursday – Rest

Friday – Rest

Total Miles: 13 (3 walking), though maybe it’s more like 25 since the 12 miler *should* have been during this week. Haha. I gotta stop moving things around.

*Links for more information: BodyPump, BodyFlowBodyAttack

Tomorrow I’ll be running the half marathon and sunday I’m planning to take a full on rest day so I can hit the ground running next week.

Have a great weekend!

2 Responses to “Wineglass Marathon Training (Week 7)”

  1. Diana July 27, 2014 at 6:54 pm #

    I hope your half marathon went well!

    • Becca July 28, 2014 at 3:49 pm #

      Thanks, it did, I’ll have a recap up soon (gotta buy one of the photos first!).

Leave a Reply

