2014 Goals Update

31 Jul

It’s (past) the mid year, so time to check on the goals I set for myself for 2014 at the beginning of the year.

Healthy Living

Strength Training. Strength Training. Strength Training.  I have pretty consistently been attending BodyPump 2-3 times a week and am loving the gains I am seeing. Doing well on this one.

Run Marathon #2 – Wineglass Marathon in October.  Training in Progress. 😉

Focus on water intake.  I was doing really awesome at this one for a while but in the past month or two have slacked. Time to refocus on this.

Yoga. What is it about yoga and my inability to commit to it? Ugh. I am trying to work in BodyFlow on the weekends if I can, especially as my running mileage increases. I still struggle with prioritization of this even though I know how good it can be for my hips and running.

Quality over Quantity with races.  I only have one more big race this year – the WIneglass Marathon. I do miss having lots of Halfs to look forward to but I’m hoping it’ll all be worth it when I finished the marathon. 🙂

Focus on fresh and unprocessed. This will probably always be in progress, but I am getting more and more comfortable cooking from scratch using fresh ingredients. Meal planning and prepping on weekends has been super helpful to success in this area too.

Personal

Focus on far away friends. I need to focus on this more for the remainder of the year.

More reading.  I am getting better at making time to read though I do feel like it’s still less time than I would hope for.

Focus on living in the now. This is something I do struggle with but am still working on doing. I do feel overall less stressed out during the daily grind lately, and try not to get overwhelmed with minuscule things. A work in progress for sure.

At Home

Finish the basement of the house.  DONE! So happy with how it turned out and so glad the renovations are over. 🙂

Paint the interior. No progress on this, not gonna lie I find it super intimidating.

 

I’ve got some things to continue to work on so it was nice to revisit these goals and seem where I’m at!

4 Responses to “2014 Goals Update”

  1. Movin' it with Michelle July 31, 2014 at 10:58 am #

    Sounds like you are doing quite well with your goals! I try commiting to once a week yoga too, and have since failed miserably…its been a couple months since I’ve done it! LOL

    • Becca July 31, 2014 at 11:04 am #

      Haha glad I’m not alone!!

      • Movin' it with Michelle July 31, 2014 at 11:10 am #

        People say running is hard. I find getting myself to do yoga is even harder. Lol

  2. Jennifer @ Running on Lentils July 31, 2014 at 1:50 pm #

    I agree with you both–yoga always seems the thing that drops away first, when we know how beneficial it is! I did a Yoga Journal challenge last year to do yoga daily for 30 days. The program said it is better to do yoga even for 15-20 minutes then not at all if you can’t fit in a 1.5 class. So I’ve been doing a lot of the Runner’s World videos, which are about 20 minutes, and I really love them.

    Congrats on your progress with all the goals! I recently learned of Wineglass & would like to do it some year, so I look forward to your review.

Leave a Reply

