Wineglass Marathon Training (Week 14)

12 Sep

Less than one month until race day. I’ve got my last long run this weekend (20 miles – holy shit) and then its taper time. Crazy. I really cannot believe it. But my body certainly can. This week was rough guys, not gonna lie. My Wednesday run was a big fat failure, and my 13 miler over the weekend was run at a pace I don’t even want to admit due to 99% humidity (no joke, that’s what my weather app said).  I am a little frustrated – 13 miles feels like nothing to me now that I’m in the peak of marathon training and it is a distance I have conquered many many times. So I’m trying not to let me mental game get crazy as a result of it being so horrible.

Saturday – 13 hot, sweaty, long, slow, horrible miles.

Sunday – BodyPump* + RPM*

Monday – P90x Dynamix

Tuesday – 5 miles of speedwork – 400s, Loved.Every.Second.

Wednesday – Planned for roughly 8 miles of tempo work… got in a whopping 1.36 miles. I wasn’t feeling it from the very first step on the treadmill so I told myself to stick it out a mile and see how I felt. I did and I still felt crappy so I gave up. At least the 1.36 miles were at the planned pace I guess. 😉

Thursday – BodyPump*

Friday – Planning to go to BodyFlow this afternoon.

Total Miles: 19.36 (ugh)

*Links for more information: BodyPump, RPM, BodyFlow

This weekend I am taking a rest day tomorrow since it is going to rain on and off, and am hoping for some nice cooler fall weather on Sunday for my 20 miler!!

Have a good one. 🙂

4 Responses to “Wineglass Marathon Training (Week 14)”

  1. specialkkluthe September 12, 2014 at 9:29 pm #

    I had a run like that during my marathon training. Don’t let it get you down. The important thing is that you got the miles in.

    • Becca September 23, 2014 at 9:30 am #

      This is a good reminder, thank you. 🙂

  2. Jennifer September 12, 2014 at 9:46 pm #

    good luck with your last 20 miler! i’ll be up in corning for the half.

    • Becca September 23, 2014 at 9:29 am #

      Awesome!! The Wineglass Half is so much fun, enjoy it!!

Leave a Reply

