Color Runs and Obstacle Races (Tuesdays on the Run)

23 Sep
Tuesdays on the Run

On Tuesdays I am joining a link up with MCM Mamma Runs, Run the Great Wide Somewhere and My No Guilt Life. You can find out more about the link up here.

This weeks topic: Going Off-Road: Obstacle Runs, Color Runs, etc

Color Runs

I have been lucky enough to participate in four color runs – three via The Color Run (two in Philadelphia, one in central PA), and one through Color Me Rad (in Philadelphia). ColorRun (8)

I enjoyed all of them, and had a great time completing a 5k with groups of friends. I really think that color runs are a great way to get people moving that wouldn’t otherwise complete a 5k. They are all about having fun and enjoying yourself. I always giggle to myself when I see people with headphones and GPS watches on – these races are not a serious race. If you do one, don’t worry about time- just enjoy yourself! In fact, at the last one I did, my friend was recovering from knee surgery so we just walked the whole thing and had a ton of fun!  If you want to read about my experience at The Color Run in Philadelphia in 2012 or the Color Me Rad race in Philadelphia in 2013 feel free to click those links.

Obstacle Runs

I have also been lucky to experience both The Warrior Dash and the Dirty Girl Mud Run. Both are mud/obstacle courses that are approximately 5k long but they are totally different experiences. Dirty Girl Mud Run has a “girl power” kind of feel to it. Lots of women do it in groups (there are very few men that I saw on the course) and there is lots of pink. It is great for a first time obstacle course because a lot of the obstacles are really fun inflatable things – like a huge slide!  My race recap of the Dirty Girl Mud Run is here.dirtygirlmudrun4

 

The Warrior Dash is a little harder than the Dirty Girl Mud Run – the obstacles tend to be higher and more difficult. But in the realm of obstacle races I would bet the Warrior Dash is still much easier than the Spartan Race or Tough Mudder. However, for me, The Warrior Dash is about as difficult as I would get. My race recap of the Pennsylvania Warrior Dash in 2012 is here.Warrior Dash (4)

Overall, I think color and mud runs are a great way to have fun and have a race experience that will challenge you in ways different from road races. I totally recommend that if you haven’t checked out a color run or mud run that you do. There is definitely something for everyone!

 

 

7 Responses to “Color Runs and Obstacle Races (Tuesdays on the Run)”

  1. Larissa D Stephanoff (@LarissaDaltonS) September 23, 2014 at 9:27 am #

    Looks like a blast! Definitely like switching up races with fun ones. I enjoyed my Gladiator obstacle race – but I did with two guy friends. They helped me get through some of the high walls that I couldn’t pull myself up and over on my own. #perks

    • Becca September 23, 2014 at 9:31 am #

      That is an awesome #perk for sure! 🙂

  2. Rebecca Jo (@RebeccaJoKnits) September 23, 2014 at 10:03 am #

    I love color runs… all the other obstacle courses? they scare me.

  3. Lacey@fairytalesandfitness September 23, 2014 at 1:10 pm #

    I don’t know if I would like any of those mud runs. I am not one for obstacles and and getting dirty during it. Although I know many people like them because it breaks up the continuous running.

  4. Rachel September 23, 2014 at 11:02 pm #

    I have never done a color run, but we did do the Warrior Dash a few years back! It was fun and challenging! I wouldn’t do it again, but I did enjoy the challenge!

  5. MCM Mama (@mcmmama) September 24, 2014 at 11:37 am #

    Thanks for linking up with us! While I have zero desire to do a color run or obstacle race, I love that they are getting people out there who maybe wouldn’t run otherwise.

  6. d20girl September 27, 2014 at 6:10 pm #

    I like the low key, laid back, group fun of a color run too. I’d love to try an obstacle course type race one day (Expedition Everest 5k is the closest I’ve gotten and that totally doesn’t count!). Thanks for linking up with us!

Leave a Reply

