My Favorite Race Distance (Tuesdays on the Run)

30 Sep

On Tuesdays I am joining a link up with MCM Mamma Runs, Run the Great Wide Somewhere and My No Guilt Life. You can find out more about the link up here.

This weeks topic: Favorite Race Distance 

This may come as no surprise but my favorite race distance is hands-down the Half Marathon.

2013runnersworldhalf5

Runner’s World Half Marathon in 2013

I have run 15 of them and though I have had some hard moments during many races, I love the experience of training and eventually running them.

Disney Princess Half

My Second Half Marathon in 2011 @ Disney

My reasons for loving the half marathon distance are:

  • Training for them is a small time commitment – you can cross the finish line by simply running 30 minutes twice a week and working up to a 10 mile run on the weekends.  Marathon training tends to be MUCH more time consuming.
  • It is a longer race distance that is accessible to many people of all sizes, abilities and paces.  I love being around so many different runners during these races.
  • The pace you run for a half marathon is a slow enough pace that your lungs aren’t burning (if you aren’t competing at least, haha), but fast enough that you don’t feel like you are going at a snails pace.
  • Tons of options – half marathons are super common and easy to find. I live in the middle of central Pennsylvania and have run them in Florida, Massachusetts, New York, Ohio and of course Pennsylvania (though from this list I am realizing I need to venture into Virginia, Maryland and New Jersey :)).
    PittsburghHalfMarathon2014 (4)

    Bridges during the Pittsburgh Half Marathon

    HHHalf2

    The reservoir we ran around in Massachusetts during the Runner’s World Heartbreak Hill Half Weekend

  • Quick Recovery. I find that I am able to recover from my long runs during training and after the race itself within a day or two, no issues.
  • The Bling! Often, half marathons are the shortest distance that races give out medals (though I am seeing medals being offered at the 5k and 10k distances more and more).PA Grand Canyon Half 5hhhalfm-3
  • Crossing the finish – I’m not sure what it is, but crossing the finish line gives me a feeling of accomplishment that I just don’t feel after a 5k or 10k.

    WDWHalf09

    Goofy Challenge Half Marathon in 2013

And that is why I ❤ 13.1. 🙂

4 Responses to “My Favorite Race Distance (Tuesdays on the Run)”

  1. mizunogirl September 30, 2014 at 8:58 pm #

    Half’s are awesome. My favorite is the 10K, but as you know. they are kinda few and far between…. Hoping to make the marathon my favorite in December!

    • Becca September 30, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

      I give you credit for loving the 10k… I always struggle with pacing in those, can’t seem to find the fast but not super fast pace. Haha.

  2. Susan October 1, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

    I just found your blog while looking for back of the pack inspiration for me. I am about to walk/run the Baltimore half (my 4th). I noticed you didn’t list Delaware in your list of states to check out. The Delaware Running Festival has a half in it and it is very well organized with lots of support for slower runners. Its held on Mother’s Day every year. 🙂

    • Becca October 3, 2014 at 8:40 am #

      Oh my gosh you are so right, Delaware has to be on that list for sure!!! I have heard great things about the Delaware Running Festival – will definitely have to add that one to the list!

Leave a Reply

