Demotivation

4 Nov

Hey guys! Sorry its been a bit – after traveling to Oregon I’ve been busy trying to get back in the groove of things. 

I have really been struggling with being motivated to run since the marathon. I have a half marathon this weekend which hasn’t even been enough to keep me in the groove. I’m not sure what’s up but I suspect it has to do with the fact that I have no big running goals on the horizon. So I’m trying to make some mini goals to keep me accountable.

I’ve signed up for a Turkey trot and I’m hoping working on my speed more and focusing on a shorter distance will re-excite me.

I love to run, I really do. I just find myself making excuses and choosing other forms of exercise over it.

Have you struggled with being unmotivated? Any tips?

10 Responses to “Demotivation”

  1. caffeinejogger November 4, 2014 at 11:51 pm #

    I’ve been struggling with this too since fall classes started. I’m thinking about joining a local running club for motivation, but it’s getting colder so I’ll probably chicken out!

    • Becca November 12, 2014 at 9:36 pm #

      Ugh freaking cold weather doesn’t help, thats for sure!

  2. Gill Light November 5, 2014 at 3:54 am #

    It’s definitely happened to me before – I think my motivation goes in waves. When I’m not particularly motivated, that’s when I read lots of running blogs, search for running events in far off places and set my heart on some piece of new running gear. Between all of that, I usually manage to find my motivation again!

    • Becca November 12, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

      These are all really good ideas, thank you!

  3. mizunogirl November 5, 2014 at 8:11 pm #

    Well, I herniated my disc 2 weeks ago so of course I totally want to run now, but if you are doing other forms of exercise and they are at the moment more enjoyable, I probably wouldn’t even worry about it!

    • Becca November 12, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

      aw geeze, I hope your back gets better. 😦

  4. specialkkluthe November 9, 2014 at 2:06 pm #

    I’ve also gone in cycles with running. Especially after my marathon, I had pretty much no interest in running. And I don’t force myself to do it. Over time, my love for it returns and I get back into it. I personally need the break to avoid burnout.

    • Becca November 12, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

      You are right, burnout is definitly possible, so respecting what your body wants and needs is important.

  5. christypatron November 12, 2014 at 12:55 am #

    Still struggling! Ran my first half in May and ever since then, I’ve had such a hard time motivating myself to train as hard as I used to or to even run at all! I’ve set small goals for myself too, hope they work!

    One thing that’s kind of helped is, I have a Running Jar. Every time I just don’t want to exercise and need the extra push I reach into my Running Jar where I’ve folded up little papers full of motivational quotes, small gifts for myself, etc. Reaching into this jar and not knowing what I’ll pull out gives me kind of a rush.

    • Becca November 12, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

      Good luck getting back into it, it is definitly tough! I love the idea of the running jar, thanks for sharing that!

Leave a Reply

