Keep on keepin’ on

12 Nov

Thank you for all of the kind words about feeling a bit demotivated post-marathon. It’s good to know I’m not alone!

Last week I spent some time running short distances more frequently. I did between 1-1.5 miles every day, most of them at a quicker speed, with one day a longer 4 miles.  It was pretty refreshing to not have to try to fit in running for an hour multiple times a week. Just 10-15 minutes and I was done!

On Saturday I ran a half marathon (that went awesome… race recap coming soon!) but I haven’t run since the race on Saturday. oops. I don’t really feel bad about it though I hate seeing a big fat 0 in MapMyRun for the week so far.  I’ve continued to try to focus on cross training but BodyPump still feels tough, and I took BodyAttack yesterday and realized that my energy is just lacking.

Next week the hubby and I are heading out of town and I’m not planning to try to fit in any running next week.  I figure this time off is something I CLEARLY need since both my energy and motivation have been lacking. And everything just feels like a struggle.

So for now I’m just trying to do what I feel like, when I feel like it. No set schedule. No expectations.

Part of me wants to DO ALL THE THINGS like I was for the better portion of this year but I just can’t seem to follow through with it or feel any stronger by forcing myself to go, so it’s just not worth it at this point.

Hopefully soon I’ll get out of this funk, but for now that’s how things are working.  I’m not beating myself up for it – I’m trying to embrace it and enjoy the extra free time I have. It is what it is and I’m sure a month from now it’ll be a different story. 🙂

One Response to “Keep on keepin’ on”

  1. mizunogirl November 14, 2014 at 3:01 pm #

    Take a Break. Sometimes I think our bodies just get TIRED and need some time off.

Leave a Reply

