Runaway Pumpkin Half Marathon (Race Recap)

13 Nov

On October 18th I ran the Runaway Pumpkin Half Marathon in Lebanon, Oregon.

I was going to Portland, OR for a work conference and decided to fly in a day early so I could do this race. Who knows when I’ll be back in Oregon, so I figured I’d seize the moment to participate in a race in a different state. 🙂

The race was held in and around Cheadle Lake Park.  It was a gorgeous location.  I was able to park my rental car close to the start/finish line which was a nice perk of a smaller race.

The race started at 9am and thanks to the time change I had zero issues waking up early enough to get there with plenty of time to spare, despite spending the previous day in airports/airplanes all day.

They had race day packet pick up which was nice, though I picked up my packet the night before in an effort to get a bit familiar with the area (since you know, I’ve never driven in Oregon before 🙂 ).RunawayPumpkin1

When we lined up to start they actually had people holding signs for the different paces – including a sign for “walkers” at the end – which I thought was a great idea! The people holding the signs were able to move forwards and back to help adjust as needed and they were so full of energy! As we were waiting to start we were treated to this gorgeous rainbow above a fog covered mountain.

RunawayPumpkin2

RunawayPumpkin4

We don’t have mountains like that in Pennsylvania. 😉

This race had a pretty long time limit – 4.5 hours! So needless to say there were a ton of walkers, which I thought was awesome.  It also meant this back-of-the-packer was towards the back-of-the-mid-pack for this race. 🙂 A nice change for sure.

Anyhow, the first group of people went off promptly at 9am, running after two people dressed as pumpkins, cute huh?  Each following pace-based group went off a few minutes later, so there was very little crowding on the course, which was nice.

The first bit of the course went around Cheadle Lake. It was gorgeous.

RunawayPumpkin3

RunawayPumpkin5

From there we headed out around some neighborhoods before heading out into some more deserted but gorgeous areas.

RunawayPumpkin6

As I was running down that road, with the tall evergreens on each side, I kept thinking how awesome it was to run a race in Oregon!

The course for this race was flat for the most part. There were a few hills but nothing that I thought was too major.

I stuck to my marathon plan of running 1 minute every mile, but I could tell from the beginning it wasn’t going to be any exciting finish time for me. Between the marathon 2 weeks prior and flying all day the day before my body just didn’t feel primed for this race. I just enjoyed myself and took in every.single.moment.RunawayPumpkin7 Gorgeous right? I’m sure the other runners thought I was crazy with all my photo taking but I loved it.

Towards the end of the race it started to get warm, and the humidity picked up.  It was warmer weather than I had run in since the summer.

I crossed the finish in 3:09:51 – to the announcer saying “here comes Rebecca from Pennsylvania?!” haha. I would guess if there had been awards for furthest traveled I may have been a contender. 🙂RunawayPumpkin8 I grabbed my medal, they cut the timing chip off my shoe and then I got some food. They had a really nice variety of food but I went right for the potato chips for the salt! Then I sat down and watched other folks come through the finish line.

After resting a bit I went over to get my picture taken by the official photographer.

RunawayPumpkinProPhoto

Major props to the Runaway Pumpkin Half Marathon for providing free professional race photos!

RunawayPumpkin9Overall I loved the experience of getting to run a half marathon in a state on the other side of the country! I can only hope I will be lucky enough to experience something like that again!

 

2 Responses to “Runaway Pumpkin Half Marathon (Race Recap)”

  1. Darlene November 13, 2014 at 9:16 am #

    Yes, very lucky! Looks like a beautiful course.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Celebrating 100 races… and the Best Of! | Diary of a slow runner - April 14, 2017

    […] From Home: Runaway Pumpkin Half Marathon – I am so thankful that work took me to Portland, Oregon and I was able to time my flights to […]

Leave a Reply

