Getting My Groove Back

5 Dec

Hey guys! I hope your week is going well. It’s starting to get pretty cold here in central PA.  But the nice thing is it puts you in the holiday spirit!

I’ve started to decorate our house, though our tree isn’t up yet – hopefully this weekend!

Pretty happy with how the #Christmas decor is coming along.

A post shared by Becca (@beccarun) on

On Thanksgiving Day I ran a Turkey Trot – it was nice to get back into running.  And the scenery was gorgeous since we had our first snow the night before.

Gorgeous turkey trot this morning. (Photo from @pameleux since my phone sucks.) #5k #run

A post shared by Becca (@beccarun) on

I was super glad to come in under 38 minutes given I had run maybe once in the 2 weeks before the race. haha.  I also saw Erin again, we just keep running into each other! haha.

The day after Thanksgiving I told myself I NEED to get my act together.  No more excuses with exercising.  I joined Coach Jenny’s Holiday Challenge which has been a real help and motivator. Every week participants set a mileage goal (and cross training counts towards the mileage goal too) and then throughout the week we check in. It’s been helpful to have some sort of mini this week.

I also ordered a Vivofit as a Christmas present to myself, that I’m not opening until December 25. The goal until I get to open it is to get my exercise back on track so that I can start out January already in a strong place.

Here’s what I’ve managed to do the past few days.

Thanksgiving (11/27) – Turkey Trot 5k in 37:16
Friday after Thanksgiving (11/28) – BodyAttack
Saturday (11/29) – RPM + BodyPump
Sunday (11/30) – I was planning to run, and just didn’t. No real excuse except I didn’t feel like it.
Monday (12/1) – BodyPump
Tuesday (12/2) – BodyAttack
Wednesday (12/3) – 3 miles speedwork (WHAT?! RUNNING?!)
Thursday (12/4) – BodyPump + 3 miles @ tempo pace
Friday (12/5) – BodyAttack

So, lots of cross training which has been good. I even got up for morning workouts 5/5 week days this week! I also made a goal to run 3 times this week, at least 3 miles. So far I’ve done it twice, and hopefully I’ll want to get in the last one tomorrow. 🙂

So little by little I’m trying to get back in shape – and into running.

Have a good weekend!

2 Responses to “Getting My Groove Back”

  1. Darlene December 5, 2014 at 9:50 am #

    good luck with getting back into running…it’s tough in the winter.

  2. Jennifer @ Running on Lentils December 6, 2014 at 11:07 am #

    Coach Jenny’s holiday challenge is a great idea. Sounds like you’re on a roll!

Leave a Reply

