The End One and the Beginning of the Next

6 Jan

Hello hello! Yes I am still here. 😉

I hope your holiday season was a good one!! I decided to take some time away from this little blog and take in time with family and relax a bit!  My brother came to visit (he lives in Hawaii — lucky duck) and I only see him once a year or so, so I really wanted to make the most of it!

I was a bit more active on instagram – it doesn’t take as much thought to put together a photo with a caption vs a blog post!

The holidays were good to me. Working in Higher Ed means that I had a whopping 16 days off of work (including weekends) and only had to take vacation days for 2 of them!  Glorious!

Like many of you, I fully indulged in the holiday fun – many drinks with friends, presents and lots of delicious cookies!

Its cookie baking time!

A post shared by Becca (@beccarun) on

I also managed to get a few runs in (and to the nice woman who recognized me when we passed each other while on a run – HEY!!!) but didn’t really stick to a schedule.  I did try to maximize my gym time though and got in pretty consistent BodyPump, BodyAttack and RPM classes.  I also tried out GRIT! It had been a sort of secret goal of mine to get up the… balls… to try GRIT before the end of 2014.  So I finally did, with about 10 days to spare. GRIT is a high intensity interval training class by Les Mills.  It is only 30 minutes, because that’s really all you can take.  My first class was CRAZY.  I’ve never pushed that hard, seriously.  I’m hoping to work GRIT into my weekly routine now, because I can see that if I do, I will see huge results.

In other fitness related news, for Christmas I got a Garmin Vivofit!

I have been looking into activity trackers for a while.  I did a TON of research on all the different types and ultimately decided on the Vivofit for a few reasons. First, I’m already in the Garmin eco-system because of my FR 220 watch for running.  The cool thing is that now my Vivofit activities and steps are now all synced on Garmin Connect with my running activities.  Second, I loved the ability to wear a heart rate monitor with it when I’m at the gym and doing cross training. Third, it shows a really simple stats right on the band – including calories burnt for the day.  I’m hoping this will help as I try to really zero in on my food intake. (More on that in a later post.)

I ran with the vivofit and my FR 220 on the New Years Eve 5k I use and it was really great to get the step feedback as well as heart rate, pace, gps.  I’m a data junkie now, what can I say. I can certainly share a product review once I’ve used the vivofit for a bit if that is something you’re interested in.

And side note – that 5k? Freaking cold. No surprise there. But I was decently happy with my finish time so no complaints there.

So that’s what has been going on for the end of 2014 and beginning of 2015!

I hope your year is off to a good start!

2 Responses to “The End One and the Beginning of the Next”

  1. mizunogirl January 7, 2015 at 5:21 am #

    I am thinking about getting the vivosmart….I really want something that will monitor my HR at night and such. I was a little disappointed as I saw the vivosmart just comes with a chest strap for HR. I mean, who wants to sleep in a chest strap!!! Sounds like you had a really super awesome holiday!!! I just tried my first Les Mills Body Flow class last week. Have you done that one? I’m not 100% sold on it, I liked the body pump more.

    • Becca January 7, 2015 at 8:40 am #

      I have taken BodyFlow before as a replacement for yoga, but in general it’s hard for me to be motivated to do yoga or BodyFlow. haha 🙂 So I agree – BodyPump all the way! The VivoFit uses a HRM strap to gauge heart rate too – I feel like I have seen somewhere that there is an activity tracker that gets heart rate through your wrist. Check out DC Rainmaker – the guy who runs that blog does amazing reviews of all activity trackers, thats where I did a ton of my research.

Leave a Reply

