2015 Race Plans (Tuesdays on the Run)

13 Jan

On Tuesdays I am joining a link up with MCM Mamma Runs, Run the Great Wide Somewhere and My No Guilt Life. You can find out more about the link up here.

This weeks topic: 2015 Race Plans!

I’ve never been one to majorly plan out my races for the year all at once. I tend to sign up for a few and then do some research, and then sign up for a few more as I feel like it. So here’s what my race calendar looks like right now, but I’m sure it will change as things get more solidified.

January & February

  • Nothing…. Pennsylvania and the east is cold this time of year!

March

  • My husband and I go to Florida every year so I always look for a 5k or 10k that I can run one morning while we are there.  So I may end up running something, or I may not.
  • I may also run a local 5k towards the end of March or beginning of April.

April

  • Hershey 10k (4/11) – Maybe. I have a hotel room booked but am still on the fence about doing the actual race and will probably wait until February to register.  I do really enjoy this race though.
  • Asbury Park Half Marathon (4/18) – This will be my first New Jersey race!

May

  • Pittsburgh Half Marathon (5/3) – I love this race, so I always sign up when registration first opens! This will be my fourth year running it. 🙂 Race recaps: 2012, 2013, 2014.

June, July, August, September, October

  • Yet to be scheduled, but there will probably be a 5k in July and there is always potential for a Color Run or Mud Run during the summer months.
  • In September or October it would be nice to do a half marathon or two.

November

  • Rock n’ Roll Savannah Half Marathon (11/7) & Rock n’ Roll Savannah 5k (11/8) – I am so excited to travel to Savannah, GA for this race! My dad and I try to do a destination race every year and for 2015 this is what we picked! I’m also excited about a Half/5k Double weekend, and checking another state off the list!
  • I’ll probably run a Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving morning – I love getting in a run before a day of relaxation and food!

December

  • I always end up running a local New Years Eve 5k so there is a high chance this will happen again.

So that’s my year in racing, so far!

10 Responses to “2015 Race Plans (Tuesdays on the Run)”

  1. Janelle J January 13, 2015 at 8:55 am #

    Sounds like a solid race schedule so far! I love in PA too, so I know how you feel about the cold!! That’s nice that you and your dad do a destination race together each year…I need to start doing that!

    • Becca January 13, 2015 at 10:32 am #

      Totally recommend one “destination” race a year – it can be really affordable that way. 🙂

  2. Shawn January 13, 2015 at 9:31 am #

    I challenge anyone not to have a good time with the ‘Burgh’s half. Having said that, though, I feel like I’m getting into a racing rut and am looking for another springtime half in the region (I’m coming out of Harrisburg). Any thoughts? Anyone? Anyone?

    • Becca January 13, 2015 at 10:31 am #

      I totally agree – spring time halfs in this area are tough to come by! I went into Ohio and did the Cleveland Half a few years ago – it’s a really great race! There is also Rock n Roll USA in DC in March – I’ve never done it but heard good things. Other than that I am not aware of much so if you find some out definitely let me know!

  3. Darlene January 13, 2015 at 1:08 pm #

    I am running the Asbury Park Half too. My first NJ half. Hope it is flat!!

    • Becca January 13, 2015 at 1:35 pm #

      I hope it’s flat too!! 🙂

  4. jamiewalker19 January 13, 2015 at 4:05 pm #

    Solid race schedule!

  5. d20girl January 13, 2015 at 7:30 pm #

    I’ve been missing our local Turkey Trot for the last few years because we’ve been doing Walt Disney World all Thanksgiving week. I think this year I need to do some research and find a Turkey Trot in Orlando! Thanks for sharing your schedule and for linking up with us today!

  6. kristenk January 14, 2015 at 12:28 am #

    So jealous you might do the Hershey 10k! I did it the past two years and it’s one of my favorites! I am so sad I can’t run it this year. It sounds like you have a good schedule lined up and I’m excited to read the race recaps!

  7. Amanda Schwartz Kessler January 14, 2015 at 1:34 pm #

    You have a full schedule, I am jealous!!

Leave a Reply

