Pittsburgh Half Marathon Race Recap

9 Jun

On May 3rd I ran my fourth Pittsburgh Half Marathon. ย If you’ve been reading here for a bit you may remember how obsessed I am with this race. My dad and I tend to sign up right when registration opens in the middle of winter each year. It is that great of a race! (Here are recaps of 2012, 2013 & 2014.)

As usual, we drove into Pittsburgh on Saturday morning. As is not usual, my mom was running the half with us! It was her first half marathon and it was so fun to watch her train for this race and then do it!

Packet Pickup was pretty much flawless like always. They moved it upstairs in the convention center this year which I really really liked. It was a lot more spacious.

We had to grab a photo in front of the big logo even though the lighting was not great. ๐Ÿ™‚

Pittsburgh Half 2015 (2)We also walked down to the finish line, something my dad and I do every year. Its a nice little walk to keep our legs loose and agree on where to meet post race.

Pittsburgh Half 2015 (3)I noticed that the finish line seemed to be moved up a bit and after tweeting with the race, I found it that I was right. They adjusted the course a bit which resulted in moving the finish line up. It also meant the stupid tiny hill that was at the end in previous years was pretty much cut off. No complaints here. ๐Ÿ™‚

Pittsburgh Half 2015 (4)Flat runner! Had to rep the Half Fanatics again at this one!

We grabbed a quick dinner at our hotel that night and had the traditional pasta and cesar salad combo.

The next morning we crossed the bridge and walked to the starting corrals. There were so.many.runners. The energy was awesome! I had the opportunity to grab a photo with some gym folks, it was fun to see some familiar faces!

We made our way into our corral and grabbed another photo. My moms first half marathon start! woo!

Pittsburgh Half 2015 (5)The three of us agreed to run our own races, and that’s exactly what we did. I planned to do 3/1 run/walk intervals and walk any uphills and run any downhills. I thought this strategy was a little weird, but it has worked for me in the past. Then I found out the 6 hour marathon pacer had them doing something similar, so maybe I am on to something! ๐Ÿ™‚

The Pittsburgh Half Marathon course is relatively flat, for Pennsylvania at least. You cross 5 bridges which means there is a slight incline, and there is pretty killer of a hill at mile 11.5. Other than that there are a few rolling hills but nothing huge.

Pittsburgh Half 2015 (6)Pittsburgh Half 2015 (7)

The views and the crowd support are the reason we come back year after year.

Pittsburgh Half 2015 (8)

My mom was also doing run/walk intervals so for the first 7-8 miles she and I kept seeing each other here and there. She had to make a pit stop then so I lost her for the rest of the time. ย But I kept getting text updates of both her and my dad’s progress which was really nice.Pittsburgh Half 2015 (9)

I also realized around mile 10 that I was hitting a faster pace than in the past few years at this race. Maybe not a PR, but faster for sure. ย The weather was great and the sun wasn’t out in full force like it has been in the past.Pittsburgh Half 2015 (10)

I kept watching for that 6 hour marathon pace group and I didn’t see them until close to the hill at 11.5. ย I saw Sarah‘s familiar face when they did catch up to me and she looked awesome and half way through her marathon PR!

I crossed the finish line in 2:58:35 – about 2 mins off of my PR. It was my fastest race on the Pittsburgh Half course and for that I was really happy. My mom finished about 10 minutes after me.

Pittsburgh Half 2015 (1)As always, it was a great weekend and race. We will be back.

5 Responses to “Pittsburgh Half Marathon Race Recap”

  1. Dee Fisher-Golden June 9, 2015 at 2:25 pm #

    I’ve been wanting to do that race! It’s so cool that you were able to run it with your parents, too!

    • Becca June 9, 2015 at 2:27 pm #

      Totally recommend it!!

  2. jillconyers June 9, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

    This race has been on my to run list forever. One day!

    • Becca June 9, 2015 at 6:08 pm #

      You definitely have to do if!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pittsburgh Half Marathon Race Recap | Diary of a slow runner - May 18, 2016

    […] the Pittsburgh Half Marathon. This was my fifth time running this wonderful race (previous recaps: 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012) and I go back every year because it never disappoints! This year felt tough […]

Leave a Reply

