Happy Valley Sprint Triathlon Relay – Run Leg (Race Recap)

10 Jul

On Sunday July 5th I ran a team relay triathlon and was the runner for our team.

Being a part of a relay was a really cool experience. I’m not sure if doing a whole tri is really for me but being able to participate in a relay was a really fun way to experience it. It was great to be able to cheer on two of my friends as they took on the swim and bike legs and I was super excited to bring the team to the finish!

I went into the race with no expectations. I have been taking it easy since the Path of the Flood Half in May and focusing more on cross training at the gym, and getting in 3 easy-ish runs a week.  Needless to say, I hadn’t been properly training, and definitely not for a 5k.  My main goal was to finish and have fun!

I did 3/1 run/walk intervals for my spring races and it seemed to work (even earning me a PR for the 10k and Half distances, woo!).  One thing I often struggle with is losing time on the walk portion, especially towards the end of longer races when I’m more tired. I recently read an article from Jeff Galloway where it was recommended to cut walk intervals down to 30 seconds to avoid slowing down. So, for the past couple of weeks I have done my easy runs with a 1:30/0:30 run/walk interval. Adjusting to 30 seconds of walking was pretty easy for me because it’s the same ratio of running to walking as a 3/1 method.

Back to the race…

After putting the timing chip on my ankle I took off on the mostly-flat course. My plan was to do the 1:30/0:30s and see how it went in a race environment. No pressure.  The run course started off with a gradual uphill. I ended up running through my first walk interval because I was feeling so great. From there I followed the 1:30/30s pretty religiously.  I felt really great through out the entire course and even saw some familiar people that I high-fived along the way for a mid run boost. 🙂

SprintTri (1)

The great thing about starting on a gradual uphill is ending on a downhill!!

SprintTri (2)

(Another race offering free photos, I love this trend!)

SprintTri (3)

I crossed the finish in 34:18!!

You guys, this is the fastest 5k I have run since I PRed in 2010!  Maybe my speed is finally coming back. 🙂

After the race I caught up with my family who came to cheer me on.

SprintTri (4)

SprintTri (5)

After looking at my splits I am so so happy with my performance. I really think shortening the intervals made a huge difference for me. Most of my running intervals were in the 10-10:15 minute mile range!  They also stayed like this consistently through the whole race, which is super amazing.

9 Responses to “Happy Valley Sprint Triathlon Relay – Run Leg (Race Recap)”

  1. Darlene July 10, 2015 at 1:47 pm #

    Congrats!

  2. theblogrunner July 11, 2015 at 7:21 am #

    That’s brilliant! Sounds like the shorter ratio really worked out. Massive well done to you! 🙂

  3. Gill July 12, 2015 at 6:19 am #

    Well done – that’s a fantastic result! I’ve been experimenting with the shorter walk breaks as well and so far haven’t seen results but your experience is keeping me motivated!

    • Becca July 13, 2015 at 8:31 am #

      Definitely keep it up, and adjust and experiment a bit. I’ll bet you’ll find your groove soon!

  4. kristenk July 12, 2015 at 11:45 pm #

    Congrats on the speedy 5k!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mt. Nittany 5k Race Recap | Diary of a slow runner - September 8, 2015

    […] My last 5k PR was set in April of 2010, and I beat that time by 1:50! I also cut a little more than THREE minutes of my last 5k time – at the triathlon relay! […]

Leave a Reply

