Mt. Nittany 5k Race Recap

8 Sep

GUYS. I finally PRed in the 5k distance! Woo hoo!!!

On Sunday September 6th I ran the Mt. Nittany 5k.  It is a 5k that was being offered as another option during a local marathon. It was the first year that they offered the 5k. I have volunteered for the marathon in the past but decided to run the 5k this year since I don’t have many 5ks on the calendar this year. I do feel I have been getting faster and I wanted the opportunity to see how fast I could run a 5k.

I had 9 miles scheduled for Sunday for my training plan, so I planned to do the 5k and then tack on an extra 6. Since I ran the 5k HARD, I cut my run a bit short, totaling around 7.5 for the day.

The race started promptly at 9am. The weather was comfortable – low 60s and cloudy.

My goal was to run it as fast and as hard as I could, and suck up the pain and discomfort for the 3 miles. I did not plan to take walk breaks but figured if there came a time when I really felt I needed it, I could do it.

Mile 0-1 – 10:07

I felt good and let myself get caught up in the initial fast running. What the heck. I’d sustain it as I could.  It was mostly flat with a glorious downhill right around the 1 mile marker that I ran down as quickly as I could.

Mile 1-2 – 10:41

Mile two included more flat road, until the hill at about 1.6. I gave myself a 20 second walk break part of the way up the hill – I could tell my heart rate was high and wanted to bring it down a smidge without hurting my pace.

Mile 2-3 – 10:07

I talked to myself a lot during this mile. I told myself to suck it up and to not give up now. I knew a PR was in sight if I didn’t mentally give in to the discomfort.  I took another 15 second walk break to give myself a slight break before trying to run as hard and fast as possible to the finish line.

3-0.3 – 15.7 seconds – 8:25 pace

The course measured a smidge short on my Garmin but I am still counting this as a big ol’ PR!

Finishing time (Garmin) 31:10 – Average pace: 10:17 – Best Pace: 8:23 (what? how?) – OT: 31:11

My last 5k PR was set in April of 2010, and I beat that time by 1:50! I also cut a little more than THREE minutes of my last 5k time – at the triathlon relay!

I am so so happy that I have PRed in the 5k, 10k, and the half marathon this year. I feel like my hard work is finally paying off. 🙂

6 Responses to “Mt. Nittany 5k Race Recap”

  1. Darlene September 8, 2015 at 1:40 pm #

    Woo Hoo! Congrats on your 5k time!

    • Becca September 8, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

      Thanks 😀

  2. specialkkluthe September 11, 2015 at 9:07 pm #

    Awesome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Workout Recap – #2halfs1wknd week 7 | Diary of a slow runner - September 14, 2015

    […] love that I managed to fit in a GRIT, BodyPump and BodyAttack! I am still feeling awesome about my 5k PR and as a result am finding it difficult to slow my legs down to an “easy” pace. I just […]

  2. Weekly Workout Recap – #2halfs1wknd week 13 | Diary of a slow runner - October 26, 2015

    […] with my time for both of these runs. I’m not sure what it is, but ever since I PRed at the Mount Nittany 5k I find I’m really able to push myself a lot more than I thought. It broke down a mental […]

  3. 2015 Goals in Review | Diary of a slow runner - December 30, 2015

    […] – My previous 5k PR was set all the way back in April of 2010. This year at the Mt. Nittany 5k I cut 1:50 from my time, finishing in 31:10. I am also very proud to finish the Rock n Roll […]

Leave a Reply

