Weekly Workout Recap – #2halfs1wknd week 7

14 Sep

weeklyworkoutheader

Weeks of September 7, 2015 – September 12, 2015
Training for Two Half Marathons in One Weekend – Week 7

I’ve had a busy weekend (and next week) so the goal for this week was to get all 4 runs in before the weekend so I could get the miles in.  This meant that I had to prioritize running over cross training a few times but I love that I managed to fit in a GRIT, BodyPump and BodyAttack! I am still feeling awesome about my 5k PR and as a result am finding it difficult to slow my legs down to an “easy” pace. I just want to push myself and see how fast I can go!  I know in time the excitement will wear off soon so for now I’m just going with it. I’m loving seeing faster speeds on my watch in the meantime. 🙂

Monday 9/7 – GRIT Cardio + 30 minute BodyFlow

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM + 3 miles easy that were not-so-easy in the PM. I really felt like pushing myself since I knew I could run faster and better!

Wednesday – 3 miles + 6 strides. My legs were a bit tired and sluggish for this one.

Thursday – 5 miles hilly easy that again were not so easy. oops. 🙂

Friday – BodyAttack in the AM + 6 miles easy

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Rest

Total Miles: 17

4 Responses to “Weekly Workout Recap – #2halfs1wknd week 7”

  1. roadtoversailles September 14, 2015 at 2:41 pm #

    hi Becca,
    I’m a 3 hour half-marathoner and before my first half in March I would re-read your half recaps to psych myself up! I’ve been wondering, since you used to have similar race results, at what pace you were doing your long runs? My problem while training was that I couldn’t slow myself down and I ended up bonking during the half. I’m now training for a 20k and trying not to repeat my mistake. Any tips? Congrats on all your latest PRs! Your cross training is giving you awesome results!

    • Becca October 5, 2015 at 9:37 am #

      Hi there – sorry it took me so long to get back to you! I actually do the run/walk method during my long runs purposely to prevent bonking. Right now I am doing a 1:30/0:30 run/walk interval method – I usually end up running the 1:30s in the high 10 min/miles or low 11 min/miles. I hope that helps. I have had to play with the intervals to find the right thing for me – I was previously doing 3/1 and realized it not only tired me out more but it also slowed me down since I walked for a longer period.

      • roadtoversailles October 6, 2015 at 10:06 am #

        Thanks for your answer! My 20k is this week and I will try very hard to stick to the plan (slow and steady!)! I’ve never seriously done run/walk intervals, I might try after the race! Good luck with your 2 halves!

      • Becca October 6, 2015 at 1:23 pm #

        Good luck!! 😀

Leave a Reply

