Weekly Workout Recap – #2halfs1wknd week 8, 9, 10

5 Oct

weeklyworkoutheader

Weeks of September 14-20, September 21-27 and September 28-October 4.
Training for Two Half Marathons in One Weekend – Week 8, 9, & 10.

AKA: How to fit in training the best you can with a busy schedule!

Hey there! Long time no see! I’m grouping the last three weeks together because honestly for a while there wasn’t much happening with my training. But for good reason – the hubby and I traveled to San Francisco and Yosemite National Park for a week, and then had another weekend trip last week.  I had fit things in when I could and finally feel like last week I was back in the groove. Just in time too – my first half of the fall season is in under 2 weeks! Yikes!  So here is how each day went, with some photos!  Warning: looooooooooong post ahead. 🙂

While we were in California I didn’t run at all, and obviously didn’t attend my usual group fitness classes. Despite that, we walked a TON and were pretty active while sight seeing and hiking!  It was cool to have my vivofit and see how active we were!

Saturday and Sunday of the previous week we walked the Golden Gate Bridge, up Coit Tower and all around San Francisco.

Monday 9/14 – Visited Mier Woods and walked around San Francisco – 16k steps

MuirWoods
Tuesday – Traveled to Yosemite (4 hour drive) and hiked around the Yosemite Valley floor – 12k steps

HalfDome

Wednesday – Hiked up vernal falls and around the Yosemite Valley floor – 27k steps.

VernalFalls

YosemiteValley

Thursday – Hiked around the Yosemite Valley Floor and around Glacier Point (at 5000 ft elevation) – 20k steps

YosemiteFalls

YosemiteValley2

GlacierPoint

Friday & Saturday – Traveling and flying. Rest Days

Sunday – 8.5 miles easy – fitting in a long run when I could. My training plan called for 10 but I decided to bump the mileage down a little since I hadn’t run in a while.
The week after we got back from California the jet lag through me off of my game for a few days. It was tough to wake up in the mornings so I just did what I could. I did not feel ready to go back to GRIT that week so I skipped it. We traveled over the weekend for a wedding so my schedule was again thrown for a little bit of a loop. I got in what I could when I could.

Monday 9/21 – BodyAttack in the PM

Tuesday – Rest (overslept my BodyPump alarm in the morning)

Wednesday – RPM in the AM, 5 miles easy in the PM.

Thursday – BodyPump in the AM

Friday – Rest

Saturday – 3 miles with strides in Smithville, NJ

Scenes from my morning run. #running #training #historicsmithville

A post shared by Becca (@beccarun) on

Sunday – 5.6 miles easy once we got back home.

And now we are to last week. Finally, back into the groove for a bit.

Monday 9/28 – 1 mile, 4 hill repeats, 1 mile over lunch + GRIT Cardio in the PM.

A little lunchtime #runchtime with my Friends. 😉📺#running #training

A post shared by Becca (@beccarun) on

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM

Wednesday – 3 miles + 6 strides in the rain in the AM + 30 minutes BodyAttack & CXWorks in the PM.

Thursday – BodyPump in the PM

Friday – BodyAttack in the AM

Saturday – GRIT Cardio

Whew!

Leave a Reply

