Rock n Roll Savannah 5k

21 Nov

On November 8th I ran the Rock n Roll Savannah 5k. When my parents and I decided to travel to Savannah we figured we might as well get in two races if we were going to be down there. The Rock n Roll Series also has a special Remix Challenge medal that you get if you complete one race on each day of the weekend, and it was cheap, like $25. Getting to see a different area of a new city for cheap and getting additional bling for a good price? I was in.

The 5k started at 1pm which is a bit unusual, but it turned out to be really nice.

We slept in a bit on Sunday morning before getting a filling breakfast in the hotel. Then we hung out a little bit more before leaving to catch the shuttle around 11:30.

The race provided an optional shuttle (for $10) that you could sign up for at the expo. It picked us up just a few blocks from our hotel and drove us to Daffin Park. The shuttles were cute street cars that are used for tours around Savannah. It was well worth the $10 to not have to worry about finding (limited) parking at the park.Rock n Roll Savannah 5k (1)

The weather was considerably cooler. Low 60s and some drizzling rain. We kept saying we wished the weather had been swapped on the two days!

We checked our bags, that were filled with extra clothes to wear after the race, with no issues. No lines or anything.Rock n Roll Savannah 5k (2)

The 5k had no corrals, just lining up according to where you thought you were within the pack.  It was also much much smaller than the races on Saturday.

Shortly before the race started the national anthem was sung and there was a moment of silence for the individual that died on the race course the previous day.

Then we were off.

I planned to just run as hard and fast as I could the entire time. Might as well empty the tank!

The first mile left the park and went into a nearby neighborhood. I ran the first mile in 10:32 but noticed that the course said we hit the 1 mile mark when my watch was showing 0.8. Obviously Garmins aren’t 100% and I tend to trust race mileage markers but it seemed a bit weird.

From there the course went along a trail that was paved but thin. Surprisingly there wasn’t much of a problem with bottle necking. It was really pretty.  I did mile 2 10:56.

We left the trail and entered the park again before turning the corner and heading into Grayson stadium in the park. I didn’t realize the race ended in a baseball stadium so that was a pretty cool surprise!

Mile 3 was a little slower in 11:15.

I finished in 32:45. My Garmin measured it as 2.98, so who knows if it was the right distance, but it was a fun course!

Rock n Roll Savannah 5k (3)

And the medal was pretty awesome too!

My parents finished shortly after and we got in line to get our remix challenge medals. The line was long but moved very quickly.

Rock n Roll Savannah 5k (4)

I was thrilled to see in the results that I placed in the top 50% of my gender, age group and overall. Pretty cool.

Rock n Roll Savannah 5k (5)

My weekend of races in Savannah definitely had some highs and lows but it was a lot of fun and it is a great city to host runners!

Read my recap of the Rock n Roll Savannah Half Marathon here.

5 Responses to “Rock n Roll Savannah 5k”

  1. Darlene November 22, 2015 at 9:47 am #

    What a busy weekend but so fun. Congrats

  2. mizunogirl November 22, 2015 at 1:20 pm #

    Sounds like a great way to enjoy a city!

  3. runsonsyrup November 22, 2015 at 7:34 pm #

    Wow, back to back races!! Nice job!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2015 Goals in Review | Diary of a slow runner - December 30, 2015

    […] the Mt. Nittany 5k I cut 1:50 from my time, finishing in 31:10. I am also very proud to finish the Rock n Roll Savannah 5k in the top 50% of my gender, age group and […]

  2. Celebrating 100 races… and the Best Of! | Diary of a slow runner - April 14, 2017

    […] 5k to Race: One of my favorite 5ks was the Rock n Roll Savannah 5k which I realize is pretty random. But it is flat, runs through a scenic park and ends in a […]

Leave a Reply

