Weekly Workout Recap: 12/7-12/13

16 Dec

Wow does time fly sometimes!! I hope your Thanksgiving was a good one if you celebrated, and the beginning of the Christmas season has been good (even if a bit hectic)!

Clearly I neglected getting my Philly Half Recap up so that will be up soon! Since then I’ve been slowly getting back to the gym and Les Mills classes and trying to maintain my running fitness. My next race is the Bermuda Triangle Challenge in mid January – which is a 1 miler, 10k and half marathon on back-to-back-to-back days, so really I’m just trying to run both weekend days to stay used to two runs on back to back days, and trying not to drop my mileage or intensity too much.

When I went back to the gym two weeks ago I felt like I was hit by a truck – in a good way. My muscles were sore and I had to decrease my weights in BodyPump significantly. It was a bit humbling since I knew I was in good shape running-wise, but strength training and cross training definitely fell to the wayside. Β I have spent the past couple weeks trying to get used to Les Mills Classes and just yesterday finally got my BodyPump weights back up to where they were before all the races in October and November. Next week I plan to add GRIT back in – I was feeling like I wasn’t quite strong enough for the class until now.

Last weekend we visited with my in-laws for Christmas, so I moved my scheduled Saturday run to Friday before work (totally worth the early wake up call) and got in a shorter run on Sunday.

Here’s how last week went:

Monday – BodyAttack in the AM + 3 miles with 6 strides in the PM

Tuesday – BodyPump

Wednesday – RPM + 45 minute BodyFlow in the AM + 4 miles easy in the PM

Thursday – BodyPump in the AM + 3 miles easy in the PM

Friday – 5 miles easy

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – 3 miles easy around New Jersey

I also realized I am SUPER close to hitting my 750 miles goal for 2015! I’m so excited!! πŸ™‚ I’m currently at 731, so I have 15 days to get in 19 miles!

Have a good week!!

 

One Response to “Weekly Workout Recap: 12/7-12/13”

  1. kristenk December 18, 2015 at 12:21 am #

    Good luck with your running goal! My injury killed my running goal – I’m going to be like 10 miles short of the 500 I hoped for, which is so frustrating!

Leave a Reply

