Resolution Run 5k

1 Jan

Happy 2016!

I didn’t really expect to write a race recap for the race I ran last night, since I’ve run it now 6 times (2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and last night) and really its just a local race that runs around town on New Years eve so there’s not a TON to write about.

BUT last night I suprised myself and got a big ol’ PR at the race!

Looking back, the fastest I have ever run this race was 34:26.  It is pretty crowded and there is one pretty long hill right at the beginning and then another steep but not as long one around mile 2. Since it’s held on New Years Eve the weather can be super freezing cold (like it was two years ago) or moderately cold like it was last night. It was in the mid-30s which was a nice change from having to wear allthelayers to run it.

There is no timing mat at the start, so you kind of have to learn where to start your watch so you get the proper distance and time. The “official” results are always a bit longer than your actual time (unless you start at the very front) because of this as well. So for that reason, I am basing my stats on my watch time.

I honestly did not have expectations for this race at all. In fact, I have been working out pretty hard, and often twice a day, for the past week and a half or so because I’ve been off of work. I even did a BodyPump class yesterday morning. So I expected my legs to feel tired and shot.

But, they didn’t!

ResolutionRun2015.jpg

Mile 1 was 10:32 which I was THRILLED with, but there was a TON of crowding, and I weaved when I could but was often unable to get around people, especially on the huge first hill. So I know now that I could have done that mile faster.

Mile 2 – 9:41 – once we got up the hill I booked it to get around people and enjoyed a nice downhill in the middle of this mile. I was feeling really really good, and actually comfortable!

Mile 3 – 9:32 – I started to feel a little fatigued but told myself to keep pushing, since I knew there was only a small uphill, follow by some flat and then the most glorious downhill ever to get to the finish. I was looking at my watch and knew that my finishing time was going to be great and probably close to 30 minutes. I didn’t want to lose the fast pace I was at so I just kept pushing, knowing it would be over soon.

Last .13 – 1:02 (7:52 pace) – I booked it as fast as I could to the finish line.

Finishing time was 30:48 (9:50 pace). I am so happy with how this race went – it is the fastest I have ever run a 5k and I felt great the entire time!! I don’t know that I have ever run two miles at paces that close to 9:30 in my life! And had negative splits too!!! I am convinced that had I not hit the crowding in the first mile I would have come even closer to 30 minutes, or maybe even under. 🙂

It was a great way to end 2015 and bring in 2016!!

3 Responses to “Resolution Run 5k”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Workout Recap: 12/28-1/3 | Diary of a slow runner - January 4, 2016

    […] – BodyPump in the AM, Resolution Run 5k (and PR) in the […]

  2. 2016 Goals | Diary of a slow runner - January 7, 2016

    […] 5k  –Since running 30:48 at the New Years eve race, I feel like I can get under 30 minutes in 2016. I’m already starting to think about which […]

  3. Resolution Run 5k (race recap) | Diary of a slow runner - January 15, 2017

    […] the weather, the amount of ice on the streets, and also the huge crowd that turns out for it.  Last year when I came so close to 30 minutes I thought that maybe I could eek out a sub-30 minute 5k sometime […]

Leave a Reply

