2016 Goals

7 Jan

I hope 2016 is off to a good start for you!

Here are my goals to focus on for this next year.

More yoga, foam rolling and stretching – I am so bad about consistently stretching and doing yoga. I want to work on fitting this into my routine more consistently.

More core work – Almost every Les Mills class that I take at the gym has a “core track” at the end of the workout where we focus on strengthening our core. But I would like to put more of a focus on it in 2016, and fit in more CXWorks classes (which are primarily to focused to strengthen the core).

Stay on top of water intake – I have done really well with drinking the amount of water that I need in 2015, but I don’t want to drop the ball with it in 2016. I feel much better when I drink enough water but it is something I easily forget to do.

Sub-30 minute 5k  –Since running 30:48 at the New Years eve race, I feel like I can get under 30 minutes in 2016. I’m already starting to think about which race I want to run.

850 running miles – Someday I dream of running 1000 miles in a year but I don’t feel like I’m there yet, so I’m hoping to at least run more than the 750 I ran this year.

Consistency in running, strength training and GRIT – Building up a good routine that balances running, strength training and GRIT was key for me in 2015, so I want to continue that in 2016 to become stronger.

Consistency in eating fresh, unprocessed and homemade – This is again something that I got good at in 2015, and want to continue to improve upon in 2016.

Read 30 books – In 2015 I made a goal of reading 20 books and I hit that goal successfully. I am still finding it difficult to prioritize reading though, so I want to up the ante in 2016.

Paint the interior of our house – This is something we have wanted to do for years. It’s gotta happen soon right? 🙂

4 Responses to “2016 Goals”

  1. Darlene January 7, 2016 at 3:29 pm #

    I don’t have any goals besides staying healthy and enjoying races & runs but if I did, they would be very similar to yours.

  2. Ciara January 8, 2016 at 2:24 pm #

    I just did my goals post today! The first one you listed is a big one for me. & I should write down about the water intake! I’m so bad with that. Good luck with your goals!!

    • Becca January 8, 2016 at 2:25 pm #

      Awesome! Good luck to you too!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The “plan” for 2016 | Diary of a slow runner - February 18, 2016

    […] Challenge I have been trying to maintain my fitness and figure out the next steps, keeping my 2016 goals and race schedule in mind, so I thought now would be a good time to explain the method to my […]

Leave a Reply

