Weekly Workout Recap: 2/1 – 2/7

8 Feb

weeklyworkoutheader

Overall, last week went pretty well. I was definitely feeling my lack of rest day last week by mid week though, so on Wednesday I opted to skip RPM + BodyFlow (since they’re kinda extras anyhow) and SLEEP IN. No regrets there.

I got in two CXWORX classes which was nice- an instructor was practicing and offered a class on Sunday afternoon, so I figured I might as well. More core work!

On a completely separate note, I have been noticing that when I do squats in BodyPump my hips look… off. Almost misaligned. Coupled with some infrequent overuse aching of my Achilles in my right foot and pain in the outside of my hips I can pretty much count on when I do long runs, I decided to finally go see a chiropractor to see if anything is up. None of these things have prevented me from running because they aren’t that bad, but I do K-Tape my hips/IT band and Achilles to prevent discomfort on anything over 10 miles. I didn’t want to cause any major injuries by just ignoring the discomfort though. The Chiropractor did some x-rays and sure enough, there is an 8 mm difference in the height of my hips. Though it’s not a good thing, I have to say I was pretty impressed that I was able to listen to my body well enough to already have an idea of what was up! I’ll be going in for regular adjustments and she gave me a 3 mm heel lift to wear in my shoes to even things out. I wore it for most of my workouts this week and while I was at work, and I have to say, it seems to be helping. My Achilles hasn’t been achy at all. The real test will be when I go on a longer run in a few weeks though.

Anyhow, here’s how last week went.

Monday – 3 mile progression run in the AM, GRIT Cardio in the PM

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM, 3 mile progression run in the PM

Wednesday – 30 minute BodyAttack + CXWORX in the PM

Thursday – BodyPump in the AM, BodyAttack in the PM

Friday – Rest (thank goodness!!!)

Saturday – GRIT Cardio + 30 minute BodyFlow

Sunday – 5 easy miles + CXWORX

5 Responses to “Weekly Workout Recap: 2/1 – 2/7”

  1. Ana February 9, 2016 at 11:38 am #

    Sleeping in is good! I haven’t slept in in what feels like forever…

    I do too get hip pain after long runs! but Yoga had stretched out most of the tightness, my hops love doing the happy baby pose !

    You are right on with training! way to go!

    • Becca February 10, 2016 at 2:42 pm #

      I do need to fit in more yoga honestly, it is so good for you!

  2. cocomama06 February 10, 2016 at 2:40 pm #

    I love my chiropractor! I don’t know why it took me until I was 40 to say, What can it hurt? and go in to see one. I get adjustments regularly and feel AWESOME.

    • Becca February 10, 2016 at 2:41 pm #

      Yes!!! I am so glad I am getting in the routine now too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SLS3 Foot Sleeves (Product Review + Giveaway) | Diary of a slow runner - May 31, 2016

    […] with hip pain and looseness in my Achilles of my right foot after long runs or races.  I have seen a chiropractor where I learned my hips were misaligned (by 8 millimeters!) and I’ve been wearing a heel lift […]

Leave a Reply

