The “plan” for 2016

18 Feb

Ever since the Bermuda Triangle Challenge I have been trying to maintain my fitness and figure out the next steps, keeping my 2016 goals and race schedule in mind, so I thought now would be a good time to explain the method to my madness that is reflected in my weekly workout recaps. πŸ™‚

Right now I am loosely following a plan I created on My Asics. My Asics is a great website/app that creates a running plan tailored for you based on your pace and distance goals.  I am currently following a plan that will help me build up speed to work towards a sub-30 minute 5k at the beginning of april. However, I also need to be building up/maintaining my long runs in order to run a strong race at the Pittsburgh Half Marathon on May 1 and the Hershey 10k on April 2. So, I have added distance to the recommended “long runs” on Sundays to make it more inline with the mileage needed to run a half marathon. For example, today there was three miles on my plan, but I ran 6 instead (at the perscribed paces).

MyAsics.PNG

On March 13 I am running a local 5k while I am in Florida on vacation. Depending on how that goes, I will continue working on my speed until a 5k at home on April 9th. If I surprise myself and run a great race in Florida, I will either not run the 5k on April 9th or I will take it easy. I plan to go into the Herskey 10k on April 2nd with no time goal (or at least try…) since I just PRed in the 10k in January in Bermuda. My mileage at that point should be good to get me through the Pittsburgh Half Marathon, Harper’s Ferry Half Marathon and the Path of the Flood Half Marathon in May.  I don’t have expectations for these races yet, though I know I want to finish Pittsburgh in under 2:45 if possible since that course always gives me a bit of a run for my money for some reason.  Harper’s Ferry is pretty hilly so I’m not quite sure what to expect, and Path of the Flood is pretty much downhill which will be a nice way to end the spring season.

After some resting I’ll have another opportunity to run a speedy 5k come early September.

I will then be building my mileage up again for the Niagara Falls Half Marathon at the end of October and the D&L Heritage Half Marathon at the beginning of November.

2016RaceAddict.PNG

Here’s where things get a little bit unknown. My dad and I are flying to Tulsa Oklahoma to participate in the Route 66 race weekend at the end of November. I am psyched especially since there is amazing support for the Half Fanatics community at the race events (including VIP areas). We are currently signed up to to do the 5k on Saturday and the half marathon on Sunday. BUT I am starting to get the itch to run another 26.2….

With the times I have completed my recent halfs in, I believe I could cut a good amount of time off of a full marathon, and I believe I am much stronger now that I was at Wineglass in 2014 and much MUCH stronger than I was in Disney in 2013.  I also feel like I need a big goal – something to push myself and keep me motivated this year, since last year I really feel that I kicked some major booty at the half marathon distance.

I have thought through the pros and cons many times at this point.

Pros – its a dang marathon, Route 66 is an amazing race experience from what I have heard, the center of the universe detour, VIP treatment at a race would be that much more worth it for a marathon.
Cons – its a dang marathon, I have heard the course is hilly, training is pretty time consuming.

When I trained for Wineglass I kept reminding myself “remember how this feels, to leave the house knowing you have to run 17 miles on this random Saturday.” Sometimes marathon training is just tough and all-consuming. But, I know I could complete another marathon, since I have done it twice before. It’s not uncharted territory.

So, I am left with a bit of a dillema. Stay registered for the half marathon, which I know I can complete? Or push myself and register for the marathon?

7 Responses to “The “plan” for 2016”

  1. brunosalcedo February 18, 2016 at 8:23 am #

    It sounds like you really want to do the 26.2

    • Becca February 18, 2016 at 9:04 am #

      Shhhhh πŸ˜‰

  2. agirlrunner February 18, 2016 at 8:36 am #

    I live in Tulsa and have done the Route 66 marathon. It’s a great one! I’ll be doing it as well this year. If you’ve never run it before, you HAVE to!! Then do the “optional” Center of the Universe and get an extra medal. (warning: wear something with pockets).

    • Becca February 18, 2016 at 9:04 am #

      OMG you may have just convinced me!

  3. Bear To Otter February 18, 2016 at 8:55 am #

    You’re running Pittsburgh! I’m doing the relay this year (third leg) and the 5K the day before for the Steel Challenge. Hopefully I’ll see you at the finish line festival at Point State Park!

    • Becca February 18, 2016 at 9:03 am #

      Oh awesome!!! If you see me say hi!

  4. Darlene February 18, 2016 at 11:49 am #

    Wow. What a schedule. Good luck!!

    That Rte 66 race sounds awesome. I am so jealous.

Leave a Reply

