Weekly Workout Recap: 4/18 – 4/24

25 Apr

weeklyworkoutheader

Hey there and happy Monday! Last week was a pretty good week though I had to shift some things around a bit. I knew that after not taking a rest day for 2 weeks there was going to come a day when I would have to listen to my body and take an unplanned rest day, and after a late night on Tuesday, Wednesday became that day. I woke up for my group run and my throat felt dry and raspy, and I immediately knew that it was one of those situations where forcing myself out of bed would do more harm than good. So, I skipped my normal run + BodyFlow in the morning, and after thinking through the rest of my week, I decided to skip CXWORX in the afternoon as well to make it a full rest day. I knew I could fit CXWORX (and my missed 3 miler) in over the weekend, so that’s exactly what I did.

In other news, the hubby and I bought REAL bikes this weekend!!! It has been a long time coming, but we’ve been waiting until it warmed up just enough outside to finally make the purchase!! bike

I haven’t ridden a bike in over 15 years (my last bike was a walmart kids bike, no joke) so I was a bit nervous about the fitting and taking it out for a spin in a busy area of town. At the end of last fall I started riding my husbands bike around the neighborhood but that thing was really dinged up – the gears would change when they felt like it, and obviously it was NOT fitted for me at all – so it was super hard to ride. Not exactly a confidence booster. Luckily Saturday went really well and the second I hopped up on my new bike for a test ride I felt so comfortable.  When we got our bikes home Saturday I was so excited I went for a spin around the neighborhood and yesterday after the gym I went for a little 5 mile ride around the area.  I want to get comfortable biking on real roads (not just neighborhood roads) so I forced myself to do that, and went on a local bike path for a bit before turning into a parking lot to practice hand signals and turning at faster speeds (I slow down a LOT which I know is not the best method).  I am feeling much more steady than I did before but I definitely have a long way to go.  Balance has never been my forte’ so it’s pretty challenging for me!  It was fun to bike the same distance in under 30 minutes that it takes me an hour to run though! I’m excited to get more comfortable on the bike and go out for longer rides.

So all in all, a good week on the fitness front. Here are the deets:

Monday – 3 mile group run in the AM, GRIT Plyo in the PM

20160418_run

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM

Wednesday – Rest

Thursday – BodyPump in the AM, GRIT Plyo in the PM

Friday – 5 mile group run in the AM

20160422_run

Saturday – 10 miles easy solo

20160423_run

Sunday – 3 miles easy + CXWORX right after and a (slow) 5.7 mile bike ride later in the afternoon!

 

4 Responses to “Weekly Workout Recap: 4/18 – 4/24”

  1. cocomama06 April 25, 2016 at 1:19 pm #

    We love our bikes! We aren’t serious riders, but we tackle all our local errands on our bikes. Yours looks super sweet!

    • Becca April 25, 2016 at 1:43 pm #

      That is a great idea to run errands on them!

  2. Darlene April 25, 2016 at 1:34 pm #

    I wished I liked biking.

    • Becca April 25, 2016 at 1:44 pm #

      I honestly didn’t think I would as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

