Weekly Workout Recap: 6/27 – 7/3

5 Jul

weeklyworkoutheader

I hope your weekend was a good one especially if it was a nice long holiday weekend like mine was! I’m actually working from home today because our office park is having a planned electrical outage (you can’t make this stuff up!), so even though I have to work today I am feeling pretty relaxed which is a nice transition to heading back into the office tomorrow.

Last week I feel like I finally turned a corner with my ankle and the weakness I have been feeling in my legs. I am finally starting to feel like I can jump higher and run stronger. I squeezed in an RPM (Les Mills cycling) class last week for good measure and will try to continue to do that when possible, because I think it definitely helps to work my legs with no impact.

On Thursday I also had the opportunity to go on a bike ride with a friend of mine. I was super nervous about riding on the roads for a long time period, and riding with someone else (how does it work? can you talk to each other? what if she’s faster than me? etc). But I knew I had to make myself do it to continue getting comfortable on the bike, so I did it and am SO GLAD I did. I felt great on the bike and our paces actually matched up pretty well. I am becoming so much more comfortable riding on the road.  We had planned for 8 miles but it ended up being 11 because we added another loop since we felt good. 🙂 I am trying to incorporate biking whenever I can so I also biked to and from a group run this week. More time on the bike = more experience.

The downfall of last week was the lack of a complete rest day, and my eating habits being completely out of control. I’ve had a lot of social events lately, that are probably not going to let up soon, and along with that comes eating crappy food and drinking tons of alcohol. I can’t help but wonder if this has been contributing to the weakness in my legs so I’m really trying to rein it in.  For this upcoming week I have a bunch of food prepped so I’m hoping that will help at least.

Monday – 3 mile group run in the AM, GRIT Cardio in the PM

20160627_run

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM

Wednesday – 4 mile group run (with the worst hill ever) in the AM, RPM + CXWORX in the PM

 

Thursday – BodyPump in the AM, 11 mile bike ride in the PM

20160630_bike.jpg

Friday – 6 mile group run in the AM

20160701_run.jpg

Saturday – GRIT Cardio + 30 minute BodyFlow

Sunday – 2 mile group run + 7 mile round trip bike ride to the run meeting spot.

20160703_run.jpg

Leave a Reply

