Route 66 Marathon Training – Week 3

22 Aug

weeklyworkoutheader

Week 3 of marathon training went well.

I got in all the planned running mileage, and the 12 mile long run felt pretty good and I’m happy with my overall pace.

Marathon training means trying not to make any excuses so I had to cram all 4 runs into the work week so that I could go out of town over the weekend. The hubby and I went kayaking at a local state park over the weekend. I was a bit nervous going into it because I’d never done it before but it was a ton of fun!

As far as cross training, I made it to BodyFlow which was great because it felt awesome to stretch everything out!  I was unable to make CXWORX though, so hopefully I can make it work this week.

I also tried out a new-to-me class called Group Power since my friend teaches it. It’s a lot like BodyPump but offered by a different fitness company. I don’t think it will become a regular thing since my gym offers BodyPump which is fine for what I need, but it was fun to mix it up and check out a different gym and different class!

This upcoming week is a cut back week with mileage and honestly I don’t feel like I “need” it at this point in training, but I hope to finish all of my shorter runs feeling strong and confident to head into week 5!

 

Monday – 5 miles easy in the AM, GRIT Strength + 30 minute BodyFlow in the PM

Tuesday – 4 miles easy in the AM, THE TRIP immersive cycling in the PM

 

Wednesday – 4 miles of intervals (1 mile warm up, 6 x 20 sec hard 60 sec recovery, cool down), Group Power in the PM

Thursday – BodyPump in the AM

Friday – 12 miles easy

 

Saturday – Rest day but tons of kayaking!

Sunday – Rest

In summary…

Total running miles: 25

Strength workouts: 2

Core workouts : 0 (goal is 1 a week)

BodyFlow workouts: 1

 

Leave a Reply

