Route 66 Marathon Training – Week 5

6 Sep

weeklyworkoutheader

Hey there and happy… Tuesday! I always feel a little bit behind after a long weekend but I had a great one and am ready to tackle another week. It’s crazy to think I’m over a 4th of the way done with my 16 week training plan!

Last week was a good mix of cross training and some good tough workouts. I did reduce to just one GRIT since it was the cardio format and I didn’t want to overdo it after having a horrible long run in week 4.

Most notably though, I ran over 100 miles in August!! I haven’t had a 100 mile month in a while and I didn’t even realize it happened until I checked my garmin!

 

Monday – 5 miles easy in the AM

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM

Wednesday – 5 miles with intervals in the AM (2 miles warm up followed by 2 minutes hard + 3 minutes recovery x 4, 1.2 mile cool down to hit 5 miles). Ouch, these intervals were tough, and I wasn’t quite sure how to pace myself. But I’m happy with my effort during them. I also did GRIT Cardio + CXWORX in the PM.

 

Thursday – BodyPump in the AM

Friday – 3 miles with hill repeats: 1 mile warm up+ 6 60 second hill repeats with recovery walking down the hill + cool down.

Saturday – 12 miles easy. I was visiting a friend and was treated to an amazing running route around Ithaca, NY. It was beautiful and the miles whizzed by.

 

Sunday – Rest

In summary…

Total running miles: 28

Strength workouts: 2

Core workouts : 1

BodyFlow workouts: 0

Leave a Reply

