Route 66 Marathon Training – Week 6

12 Sep

weeklyworkoutheader

Week 6 started off with a rest day on Labor Day since I was out of town, and then I hit the ground running to fit in 3 runs before Saturday (which I wanted to take as a rest day) plus some strength work. I missed out on BodyFlow and CXWORX because I couldn’t make them work with my schedule (had to prioritize the runs!) but I did stretch and foam roll so that should count for something. 🙂 Yesterday I ran my first fall half marathon in Harrisburg, but I ran it as a training run. Overall I’m happy with how I did given I wasn’t going to race it, but I’ll have a full recap coming soon!

Monday – Rest

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM, The Trip immersive cycling in the PM.

Wednesday – 4 miles with intervals (4 times: 10 sec sprint, 20 sec recover, 30 sec at 5k pace, 1 minute recover) in the AM, GRIT Strength in the PM.

Thursday – BodyPump in the AM, 8×60 second hill repeats in the evening for a total of 3 miles. I had to run the hills on the treadmill because it was so freaking hot outside but wow did it make it hard to stay motivated!!! I remember training for a marathon previously almost completely on the treadmill, but this time I’ve barely used it at all. It’s crazy how things change!

Friday – 7 miles easy in the AM. This run was rough. It was humid, my legs were tired, and everyone else I was running with was struggling too. We were all glad when it was over!

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Harrisburg Half Marathon

In summary… 

Total running miles: 27.1

Strength workouts: 3

Core workouts : 0

BodyFlow workouts: 0

Leave a Reply

