Route 66 Marathon Training – Week 7

20 Sep

weeklyworkoutheader

Week 7 was a bit unusual because I went down to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando for the second half of the week! This week forced me to prioritize running (a necessity of marathon training) so no cross training happened, but thats okay, you gotta do what you gotta do. I got in two runs while I was down in florida (on the treadmill) but I had to get in my long run before my flight on Wednesday which meant waking up SUPER early to give myself enough time to recover in a leisurely fashion before getting out the door! I knew there was no way 16 miles was gonna happen in florida with all the time we planned to spend at Universal Studios and Island of Adventure.

Monday – 5 miles easy in the AM

Tuesday – Had to skip my usual BodyPump to take a full rest day before my long run.

Wednesday – 16 miles – I finished around 3:20:00 which gave me a 12:30 pace average which I was more than happy with. I started the run at 4:15 (no joke), met up with my running buddies 3 miles in, ran 8 with company, and took the long way home for the last 5 miles. As I sort of expected, my motivation dropped around mile 11 since I was running alone again, but I powered through and luckily only that last mile felt really tough.

 

Thursday – All Harry Potter, all the time.

 

Friday – 4 miles with intervals – 1/2 mile warm up, 10x400s with 200 meter recovery in between. I should have done a longer warm up and had a cool down, but after two full days at the parks my feet were tired, and lets face it, I wanted to be at the pool. I was just glad to get the intervals done.

Saturday – Rest day and more HP!

Sunday – I woke up early to get in 5 miles on the treadmill (in 62 minutes) before we caught our plane back home.  Again, I was super happy to even get in the planned mileage, on the treadmill no less.

In summary… 

Total running miles: 30!!!

Strength workouts: 0

Core workouts : 0

BodyFlow workouts: 0 but I did do lots of stretching this week.

One Response to “Route 66 Marathon Training – Week 7”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Route 66 Marathon Training – Weeks 8 & 9 | Diary of a slow runner - October 19, 2016

    […] Last we left off was week 7, and I had just gotten back from Harry Potter World and squeezed in my f… […]

Leave a Reply

