Route 66 Marathon Training – Weeks 14 & 15

14 Nov

weeklyworkoutheader

Well here we are. In the last week of marathon training, and the big day is on Sunday!!! I am feeling pretty great – no taper crazies here at all. I am enjoying my taper and my runs feel so strong!!! Here’s how the last two weeks – the first two weeks of tapering – went. I focused mostly on running, getting in some light non-impact cardio through spinning, and staying on top of my core work. I cut BodyPump and anything super intense (besides the running) completely out to give my body the recovery time it needs.

Monday Oct 31 – A much needed rest day post-Niagara Falls Half/2o miler.

Tuesday Nov 1 – I took another rest day, shifting my runs around for the rest of the week, because my body still felt tired.

Wednesday Nov 2 – 5.6 miles easy in the AM, CXWORX in the PM

Thursday Nov 3 – 3 miles easy in the AM

Friday Nov 4 – 3 miles easy in the AM

Saturday Nov 5 – Rest day

Sunday Nov 6 – D&L Half Marathon!! I felt great during this race and surprised myself with another PR, finishing in 2:24 and change (about 4 minutes off from the week before). Full race recap soon!! 🙂

 

In summary… 

Total running miles: 24.7

Core workouts : 1

 

Monday Nov 7 – Planned rest day due to the hard-ish effort the day before.

Tuesday Nov 8 – Another rest day, again, just listening to my body!

Wednesday Nov 9 – 4.1 miles easy in the AM, RPM + CXWORX in the PM

Thursday Nov 10 – 5.6 miles fast in the AM (10:45 pace!)

Friday Nov 11 – 3.3 miles easy in the AM, nice stretchy yoga class in the late morning.

Saturday Nov 12 – The Trip Immersive Cycling

Sunday Nov 13  – 10 miles (11:54 pace) – I took this easy and comfortable and finished feeling pretty good!

 

In summary… 

Total running miles: 23

Core workouts : 1

BodyFlow/Yoga classes: 1

I have just two easy runs planned this week before I head to Tulsa!!  With my free time I plan to rest, stretch and foam roll. On Saturday I’ll be running the 5k, and on Sunday the full marathon! Ahhh!!! I can’t believe it’s finally here!!

One Response to “Route 66 Marathon Training – Weeks 14 & 15”

  1. Patrice Nissen November 20, 2016 at 1:12 am #

    Best of luck to you, Becca! Wishing you energized legs and happy feet! You’ve been running so strong, you are so ready!👟👏🏻

Leave a Reply

