Weekly Workout Recap 12/12 – 12/18

20 Dec

weeklyworkoutheader

Last week was a winter holiday season week at its finest! I got in what I could, when I could. I’ll be getting back on track this week!

Monday – 5 miles easy on the treadmill in the AM, GRIT Cardio in the PM. It snowed and was impossible to run outside, so I had to hit up the treadmill for the first time this winter. Luckily I have The Crown (on Netflix) to keep me entertained! Luckily the roads cleared up enough to get to GRIT in the evening. This was my first GRIT back since the beginning of marathon training! It was hard but great, I have really missed the feeling of a good HIIT workout and pushing my limits.  I’m looking forward to re-adding this to my regular routine, and for now will be easing in by just doing one GRIT a week. I hope to add a second one in a month or two.

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM, 5 miles on the treadmill in the PM. This run felt so stinking hard. I was unmotivated and just needed to get it in since the rest of the week would be busy. I was glad when it was done.

Wednesday – Planned Rest Day – my mom and I took a bus trip to New York City and the 4am wake up call made a morning run impossible, and we didn’t get back home until 1am. We did do a ton of walking at least.

It really is all around… #love #merrychristmas #loveactually #newyork #newyorkcity

A post shared by Becca (@beccarun) on

 

Thursday – Planned Rest Day – I did not plan to wake up for BodyPump (since that would have meant under 4 hours of sleep), and I had a full work day + a work holiday happy hour after which meant I got home late.

Friday – Unplanned Rest Day – I could.not.wake.up. to run on Friday. I was pretty tired from the previous two days. So, I took an unplanned rest day. Running after work wasn’t an option because we went to visit my in-laws right after work.

Saturday – Sort of Planned Rest day – I thought to take my running clothes with me to New Jersey, but after looking at the weather forecast I decided against it. I made the right choice – it was icy and slushy and I wouldn’t have made it too far. It did feel great to sleep in til forever though. 😉

Sunday – 3.6 miles in the PM – My running group does an annual “Holiday Lights” run, so I met up with them in the evening, after we were back home. I felt really good and strong, probably due to the four previous days of rest!

Last week was a far cry from my hope of 20 miles of running a week, but I fit it in when I could. I am still on track to hit 1000 miles before the end of the year, and will probably hit it by the end of the week.

Have a good week!!

Leave a Reply

