Weekly Workout Recap 12/26 – 1/8

11 Jan

weeklyworkoutheader

Hey there!!! I hope 2017 is off to a good start for you! It’s always a nice feeling to have a fresh slate isn’t it?

Today I’m recapping my last week of 2016 and my first week of 2017 – I kinda thought it would be neat to put them in a post together (maybe I’m weird..).

I had the last week off 2016 from work, so I was really able to focus on and maximize my workout time.

Monday – 5 miles easy in the AM

Tuesday – I wanted to try running a 5k in under 30 minutes, and I DID IT. In 29:30!!!

img_0869

Wednesday – 5 miles easy in the AM, GRIT Plyo + CXWORX in the PM. As I’ve talked about, I HATE GRIT Plyo with a fiery passion. So I have been really dreading this GRIT class for months.  It was hard but I survived and that’s what matters right?

Thursday – BodyAttack + BodyPump in the PM

Friday – 3 miles easy, along the route for the New Years Eve 5k the next evening to get a feel for the course!

Saturday – Resolution Run 5k – 28:30!!!!! I finally sub-30ed a 5k!!!!!!! And ended the year with another PR!!! Saying I was thrilled would be an understatement. I’ll have a recap of the race soon.

Sunday January 1st – REST DAY. Boy did I need it. But wow is it tough to have a rest day on January 1st when everyone is posting about their runs and workouts and starting the year off right!

Monday – My last day off from work! 6 miles easy in the AM. This served as my first “long” run of my next training cycle. The race is in February so it’s time to bump the mileage up!

Tuesday & Wednesday – Unplanned rest – Unfortunately I got hit with a cold/sinus infection on Monday night, and had to take Tuesday off of work, and Tues and Weds off of anything fitness related – especially since I attend a group fitness gym. The last thing I wanted to do was spread my germs. I ended up taking Tuesday off of work which wasn’t the way I expected to start the new year, but what can ya do!

Thursday – Back at it! BodyPump in the AM, BodyAttack in the PM.

Friday – 5 miles easy in the AM, 30 minute RPM + 30 minute BodyPump + CXWORX in the PM.

Saturday – GRIT Cardio + 30 minute BodyFlow

Sunday – 8 miles easy. This run was COLD. It was under 10 degrees. Luckily once we got moving I warmed up! I loved the hot shower post-run too!

 

Leave a Reply

