2016 Goals in Review

19 Jan

I wanted to take a minute and reflect on my 2016 goals before setting some new ones for 2017. Overall, I am happy with how things went in 2016, especially on the running front. There is always room for improvement and pushing yourself more though, so I’m looking forward to 2017 for the opportunity to do that.

2016 was a rough year for many people in a lot of different ways, but for me from a fitness perspective I feel like it was really a great year. I got much stronger and hit a lot of goals that I never thought would be possible.

Here are my 2016 goals and how things shook out:

More yoga, foam rolling and stretching – I got a lot better about consistently going to BodyFlow (a Les Mills yoga/stretching/pilates class).  I still suck at consistently stretching at home though. Partial check  mark for this one!

More core work – I did really well at attending CXWORX most weeks of the year and I think it really paid off when I ran the Route 66 Marathon and made me a stronger runner overall.

Stay on top of water intake – I got a lot better about drinking enough water, especially in the spring, summer and fall. In the winter it was a lot more difficult but I did better than I have in the past.

Sub-30 minute 5k  – Done! and at the last minute possible – 6:30pm on New Years Eve! 🙂 I also PRed in the 10k (at Hershey), the Half Marathon (at D&L) and the Marathon (at Route 66). I am super proud of how much faster I have become at racing this year.

850 running miles – When I wrote this goal, I was “dreaming” of running 1000 miles but didn’t know if it was possible, so I settled for 850. Not only did I hit 850, but I hit 1000 miles in the 3rd week of december, ending the year around 1,020 total miles. This is the most I have ever done in a year and the first time hitting 1,000 so I am super happy.

Consistency in running, strength training and GRIT – I became much more consistent in running – having a running group helps with that so much! GRIT became more of a staple in my regulary routine, and I stayed consistent with BodyPump. I did cut back on GRIT and BodyPump for about a month and a half in the thick of high-mileage marathon training, but it was a good decision, and I picked it back up after I had recovered from the race.

Consistency in eating fresh, unprocessed and homemade – Meal prep has become more and more of a routine for me and helped with this goal immensely. I’m not perfect but I would say I eat about 80% “clean” and 20% junk.

Read 30 books – I read 41 books in 2016, so am happy to say I am making the time for and priortizing reading!

Paint the interior of our house – This did not happen… some day? haha.

2 Responses to “2016 Goals in Review”

  1. Darlene January 19, 2017 at 9:11 am #

    Great job!!! You will have a hard time topping that in 2017.

  2. Darlene January 19, 2017 at 9:12 am #

    I am also running the Wineglass for the first time!!

Leave a Reply

