Weekly Workout Recap 1/16 – 1/29

31 Jan

It seems a bit off to be writing about something as simple and normal as workouts right now, given what is going on in the U.S. and the world. My blog and workouts really seem minor by comparison. ย But, my workouts are really keeping me sane and they bring me some comfort, and the energy to fight for human rights, so I plan to keep on recapping them for as long as it brings that little bit of comfort.

weeklyworkoutheader

Here’s how the last two weeks went.

Monday 1/16 – 5 miles in the AM, GRIT Plyo + 30 minute BodyFlow in the PM

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM

Wednesday – 3.2 miles in the AM, GRIT Plyo + CXWORX in the PM

Thursday – BodyAttack + BodyPump in the PM

Friday – 6 miles in the AM… plus some donations to Planned Parenthood and an evening at the winery.ย It’s all about balance…

Saturday – Rest Day

Sunday – 10 miles – I ran the first 4 miles along, the middle three with friends and the last 3 on my own. Interestingly, my pace was a negative split during each of these three segments individually! Finished in 1:52:57 (11:17 pace) – solid long run training pace.

Total miles: 24.2

Monday 1/23 – 5 miles in the AM. I planned to attend GRIT in the PM but a nasty winter storm made the roads messy, so I shifted things around for the remainder of the week to fit in GRIT and a rest day.

Tuesday – BodyPump in the AM, 5 miles on the treadmill in the PM. Not running in the freezing cold in a million layers was a nice change.

Wednesday – 3.4 miles in the AM, GRIT Cardio + CXWORX in the PM

Thursday – BodyAttack in the PM

Friday – 7 miles in the AM, 30 minute RPM + 30 minute BodyPump + CXWORX in the PM. I had planned to run 10 miles, but realized mid-run that I had built up mileage for the previous two weeks and it was probably time for a cutback week, before building again for my first 2017 half marathon next month!

Saturday – GRIT Cardio + 30 minute BodyFlow

Sunday – Rest Day!

Total mileage: 20.4

Overall, a solid two weeks, balancing 20+ miles of running with core work (CXWORX), stretching (BodyFlow) and HIIT (GRIT)! No complaints here.

 

Leave a Reply

