Standing Stone 5k Race Recap

4 Oct

On Sunday September 24th I ran the inaugural Standing Stone 5k.  This race was located in Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, near my college alma mater, so I heard about it through some targeted facebook ads. 😉

I had originally registered for the half marathon but the weekend of the race was very hot for the end of September, clocking temperatures in the 80s. By Saturday, I started to entertain the idea of switching to the 5k. Since the races didn’t start until 2:30pm, I went with my college roommate (who coincidentally was in town), to Huntingdon the morning of the race – and spent the morning getting brunch (at the awesome Stone Town Cafe) and exploring campus and Huntingdon.

standing-stone-pre-1.jpg

Huntingdon has some gorgeous vistas!

Standing Stone Pre (2)

The temperatures kept inching up throughout the morning, and that pretty much cemented that I had to change races. I just hoped I wouldn’t regret it.  Switching races was very simple – I just asked when I picked up my bib and it was no issue (though I wasn’t expecting a refund of the price difference).

The race started a bit late, with the half marathoners heading out first, and the 5k starting at 2:45. I felt a twinge of jealousy as the half marathoners took off and I saw the 2:30 pacer, but as soon as we started I had no regrets. It was 84 degrees, humid and mostly sunny.

The 5k course was nice, though it had a pretty big hill in mile 2 where I decided to walk. My splits were a bit all over the place, because the first mile was mostly downhill, the second had the hill and some walking, and by the third I was pretty spent from the heat.

Standing Stone Splits

All. over. the. place. And measured a smidge short too. But no big deal, I knew this wasn’t going to be a PR day for me.

The crowd support was really great for a small inaugural race, with cheerleaders cheering us on at the start and the finish.

Standing Stone Finishers

And free race photos too!!!

I am proud of my finishing time of 31:28 given the weather (though it’s a minute per mile slower than my PR).  And, it was good enough for first in my age group and top 50% of women and overall finishers. Benefits of a small race! 🙂

Standing Stone Results

My dad finished shortly after me.

standing-stone-w-dad-e1506984957239.jpg

The finish line had tons of water (luckily) and boxes of food for finishers, which was an awesome perk. We also got medals! We hung around for a while watching the half marathoners come in and they looked really exhausted.  I doubt anyone had as fast of a race as they hoped.

Overall, I thought this race was well organized and had a lot of perks given its inexpensive price. I hope they do it again next year, and I hope its cool enough to do the half marathon too!

One Response to “Standing Stone 5k Race Recap”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Workout Recap 10/30-11/6 | Diary of a slow runner - November 7, 2017

    […] Also an awesome mail day when I received my age group award for the Standing Stone 5k! […]

Leave a comment